Nancy Naigle, author of “Out of Focus”

Welcome, Nancy. What is your book about?

My latest novel is OUT OF FOCUS. It’s about a woman caught in a web of friendship and betrayal as she desperately searches for her son. It’s available in trade paperback and in all digital formats, too. OUT OF FOCUS is a really special book to me. This book took me only about eight months to write – start to finish. It won four awards right out of the gate. It has a really special place in my heart and I hope readers will love it as much as I do. You might need a hanky, but some of those tears are really precious and probably because they poke at your own fond memories.

Have you written any other books?

Yes. OUT OF FOCUS is the second novel I’ve written with ties to the small town of Adams Grove. The first, SWEET TEA AND SECRETS, came out this summer. I also co-wrote a suspense with Phyllis C. Johnson under the pseudonym Johnson Naigle. That one is called inkBLOT. It’s an awesome suspense that’ll make you think twice about all the information you put out on the internet and it’s perfect for any age reader.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite? Why?

In OUT OF FOCUS the main character is Kasey Phillips. She’s a successful commercial photographer balancing her career with married life and being a mother. This story opens with her at a photo shoot of the popular country singer, Cody Tuggle. Cody is one of my favorite characters. He’s got a bad boy image and the paparazzi love to flare up a good story about him, but really, he’s a great guy. I loved pulling back the real Cody. Handsome, successful, and nice…the man of all of our dreams, right? There’s a book with Cody Tuggle as one of the main characters in progress now.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

You know, I think the most unusual likable character I’ve ever written would be King in inkBLOT. He’s a tattoo artist. He’s got that badass look with a bandanna tattooed around his bald head that looks so real you want to touch it. Big guy, but he’s all heart and a wonderful single dad. I love that guy. He breaks the stereotype and that’s a good thing.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

I’m a plotter. I know the synopsis before I get to writing too much. As a lister and planner in everything I do, that’s just a natural process for me.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

You know, I have a busy day job, too. I’m an SVP with Bank of America. One of the main reasons I wanted to get my stories out to the world is that I believe woman are busier than ever. We juggle so many things and we need life balance. Books bring me balance and I wanted to write stories that were easy reads that could offer an escape – even if just for a little while – to other busy gals like me.

Do you prefer to write at a particular time of day?

I’m best mid-morning. First thing in the morning, while I’m drinking coffee, I’m doing email and tweets and visiting facebook friends. Once I have that done, I’m ready to face the day. Have a full-time job I don’t have that luxury though. I write whenever I get the chance. I tease that USAirways has a vested interest in my success because I do some great writing in those seats on their planes.

What are you working on right now?

I’m working on edits to the next Adams Grove book right now. I love that little town. It’s a sweet southern town and the community is made up of so many personalities that lend to its charm. Max over at the bakery is known for his baked fresh daily treats, especially the bear claws. Ted Hardy of Floral & Hardy can whip up an amazing arrangement to suit any occasion and does the best twinkle lights in his display window. Chaz Huckaby is the guy with all the connections, and Sheriff Calvin is pretty darn awesome even if he did hire the bound-to-step-into-trouble northerner as Deputy for the town. Deputy Dan has his heart in the right place but he can be a little overzealous. Oh, this town is full of great cooks, too. They love sharing recipes so there are a couple in the back of each book.

What advice you would give to an aspiring author?

The best advice I can give is to never give up. It’s a long journey so surround yourself with people that will prop you up when the going gets tough, because it does get tough. Share what you know and be willing to listen and continue learning. That circle will lift you toward your dream come true.

Where can people learn more about your books?

I have a website. http://www.NancyNaigle.com and I’m also very active on facebook and twitter. I’d love to chat with folks there, too.

Is there anything else you’d like to tell us about you?

I write love stories from the crossroad of small town and suspense. I’m a native of Virginia and I live in a small town in southern Virginia with my husband on our goat farm with our dog, Hunter, and hundreds of goats.

Hugs and happy reading~
Nancy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,574 other followers

