Dr. Dorothy McCoy, Author of the Nonfiction Book “The Manipulative Man”

Welcome, Dorothy. What is  The Manipulative Man about?

There are men who are exceptionally manipulative and having a relationship with one of these men requires special knowledge and some advanced relationships techniques. My book identifies the men, provides a checklist to make a positive identification (my law enforcement background shows at times), and decide if this is the relationship for the reader, can it be changed or should the reader consider cutting her losses and moving on. It includes many case studies that showcase how these manipulative men use their considerable skills in interactions and conversations. I also threw in some humor to hold the readers interest and make it more fun.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

I did a tremendous amount of research if you include my 13.5 years in college, 15 years in private practice and journal research for the book. Some of my time in college and practice time overlapped.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I want women (and men) to understand when they are being manipulated (used) by someone in this dishonest and self-serving way. Once we realize that, we can make free choices and protect ourselves from psychological, emotional and physical harm.

What challenges did you face as you wrote this book?

The beautiful countryside just waiting for me to run, hike and commune with nature… my dog (Sophie) “asking” to go out, to be feed, to be petted and to get her meals and snacks, and the need for human companionship. I am a people person and staying tied to a computer for long periods was very problematic.

Do you think writing this book changed your life? How so?

I am more aware of manipulation now. I have also made a more in depth study of psychopaths and I use that knowledge to alert law enforcement to the danger.

Do you have any rituals that you follow before sitting down to write?

I fix a cup of superb, fresh ground coffee (one should not skimp on coffee), wait for Sophie to get comfortably settled at my feet and go to sleep (snoring loudly) and then I am ready to write.

Do you prefer to write at a particular time of day?

Yes, I prefer late morning. I have found, if I have a tsunami deadline approaching I can write at any time of the day.

Does writing come easy for you?

The type of writing I do, research based, comes easily to me. I would like to write an Agatha Christie type murder mystery. That does not come at all—at least not so far…

What’s been the most surprising part of being a writer?

Calling myself a writer was very difficult for me. I had three published books (traditionally published) before I would call myself a writer. I still feel a little like an imposter when I claim that skill.

Who gave you the best writing advice you ever received and what was it?

A professor at Emory when I was working on my dissertation… He told me there are two types of dissertations—perfect dissertations and finished dissertations. I wanted a finished dissertation.

What advice you would give to an aspiring author?

Write about what you know and love. Then get someone to reality test for you. Rewrite, rewrite and rewrite…

Have you written any other books?

Yes — From Shyness to Butterfly and Personality Quizzes

Where can people learn more about your books?

My website www.themanipulativeman.net and Amazon and other booksellers sites

Is there anything else you’d like to tell us about yourself or your books?

I sincerely appreciate my readers. There are many books they could read and when they choose mine I am truly honored. I love to hear from readers—drmccoy86@aol.com

3 Responses to “Dr. Dorothy McCoy, Author of the Nonfiction Book “The Manipulative Man””

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    I like the perfect vs finished approach. Finished and good enough sounds great to me.

  2. Book Bits #122 – Neal Baer, Jonathan Green, World’s Largest Koran, Street Food, Why GoodReads? | Malcolm's Book Bits and Notions Says:

    [...] Dr. Dorothy McCoy, Author of the Nonfiction Book “The Manipulative Man” with Pat Bertram – “There are men who are exceptionally manipulative and having a [...]

  3. Does One Have to be a Coffee Drinker to be a Writer? « Bertram's Blog Says:

    [...] From an interview with: Dr. Dorothy McCoy, Author of “The Manipulative Man” [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,575 other followers

