Stephen Prosapio, Author of “Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum”

Welcome, Stephen. It’s good to talk to you! What is your book about?

Forced to work with a rival TV ghost hunting show, a paranormal researcher—who is himself possessed—investigates a 19th century asylum and uncovers as many dangerous secrets as he does spirits.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

Funny in that this story had to “brew” quite a while, Pat. I thought up the rough idea for GHOSTS OF ROSEWOOD ASYLUM after my first novel DREAM WAR didn’t sell to the Big Six publishers. I didn’t quite pitch it right to my agent though, and she suggested I go with another idea I had at the time (a vampire novel). Unfortunately, I got blocked with that idea and came back to the TV Paranormal Investigator angle. Pitching it a second time to my agent went much better. She gave me some great advice. Thus, GHOSTS OF ROSEWOOD ASYLUM (GoRA) was the easiest novel to write thus far. I wrote the first draft within 3 months.

Who is your most likeable character?

Ray “the Railroad” Ross. For some reason, chicks really dig him.

Did you do any research for the book?

If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.) Figuring out how 19th Century Asylums operated was the subject of a decent of research. It was interesting to consider how much life has changed in 100 years.

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

Typically I like to have lessons and character growth. I like to show how characters make either correct or incorrect choices. Sometimes the difference between good and evil is simply taking the right or wrong action. I’ll let the readers take what morals they want from the story.

What was the first story you remember writing?

It was a story we wrote in 1st grade. We were all given a title and a title alone: It’s a Long Way Down. It was a pretty open-ended title for a story. I believe mine had to do with someone climbing a tower. Others wrote about people looking into a pit. It was a pretty interesting psychological study I suppose.

What is the most difficult part of the whole writing process?

Getting myself focused on my manuscript and ONLY my manuscript. We’ve so many distractions today…even when sitting at our computers.

Even when sitting at our computers? Especially when sitting at our computers!! Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character in your story because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you, his or her creator?

I recently had a novel completely set in my mind to “kill off” a character. For nearly two years the plan was set. Flying to Chicago as part of my first book tour, it came to me that a different character had to take the fall. It hit me like a punch to my gut, but I knew it was the right way to go.

What one book, written by someone else, do you wish you’d written yourself?

Devil in the White City by Erik Larson.

What words would you like to leave the world when you are gone?

I wrote this a while back as my mission statement: In modern society it’s become unpopular—except in the horror genre—to address evil as anything except an absence of good. This is a lie. We are all capable of evil just as we’re capable of good. Key decisions during key moments of life do more than just define our personalities; they increase either good or evil in the world.

Where can people learn more about your books?

http://www.prosapio.com

http://www.xavierparanormal.com

facebook page http://www.facebook.com/stephenprosapio

Goodreads author page http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4348183.Stephen_Prosapio

Twitter details http://twitter.com/#!/stephenprosapio

Thank you for answering my questions, Stephen. Best of luck with your books!

Click here to read an: Excerpt From “Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum” by Stephen Prosapio

2 Responses to “Stephen Prosapio, Author of “Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum””

  1. Heidi Says:

    Great informative interview. I am so glad Stephen went with Ghost Hunters instead of Vampires. I still need to Erik Larsen’s Chicago book.

  2. Kat Sheridan Says:

    Terrific interview! Looks like I need to add this one to my collection!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,574 other followers

