Walter Dinjos, Author of “Beyond Bermuda” and “The Forbidden Sea”

What is your book about?

The book, as the cover says, is a medley of two tales: “Beyond Bermuda” and “The Forbidden Sea”.

Over the years, there has been a lot of rumpus about the Bermuda Triangle and the vessels and aircraft that went missing there. Most of us, while curious, dismiss the claims about the Triangle as an exaggeration. I, however, marvel at the story ideas the region holds and couldn’t help but attempt to entertain you while your curiosity is still aflame.

The Forbidden Sea, on the other hand, tells the familiar story of love and betrayal – only this time the tale is spangled with gunpowder, magic, and a sea goddess that feeds princes to her waters.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

Months. Then I was writing the first draft of a fantasy novel that I’m revising now. Once in a while I needed a break; hence, the developing and writing of the two short stories in this book. I plot heavily, by the way, as not seeing the end while writing feels like blindness.

Do you think writing this book changed your life? How so?

It most definitely changed my life, if only because you are interviewing me now. Moreover, in writing and finishing a book resides expanding-versatility and boundless fulfilment respectively.

Do you have any rituals that you follow before sitting down to write?

Rituals? I sleep first – it helps clear my mind – and then write. Or check out my blog (http://www.walterdinjos.wordpress.com) and discover the flower of abominable rituals.

Do you prefer to write at a particular time of day?

I prefer to write in the middle of the night when everywhere is ominously quiet – keeps my heart thumping and my mind excited.

What are you working on right now?

The Unfading Heiress — a fantasy novel about wistful ghosts, questionable gods, and cross-realm love.

Does writing come easy for you?

Ha, I believe everything we do requires effort even when our manner appears effortless. English is my secondary language, so I didn’t find it difficult reconciling with my shortcomings and keeping a dictionary and the likes beside me while writing. Now story ideas are what come easy to me.

Where do you get the names for your characters?

I derive the names of my characters from Old English words.

How have you marketed and promoted your work?

I use my songs, since I’m a singer/songwriter. Download my book free at Smashwords (http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/94600) or Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Bermuda-ebook/dp/B005TJ9P08/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1329742365&sr=1-1) for just $0.99, then email me at WalterDinjos@gmail.com and I will forward you one of my songs.

Where can people learn more about your books?

At Juju Heritage (http://walterdinjos.wordpress.com/about/), you will discover I like to explore the human soul and the life beyond, and my imminent books would be rooted in those, mostly.

2 Responses to “Walter Dinjos, Author of “Beyond Bermuda” and “The Forbidden Sea””

  1. Walter Dinjos Says:

    Thanks, Pat, for having me here. And keep up the good work. :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,574 other followers

