David M. Salkin, Author of “Forever Hunger”

What is your book about?

FOREVER HUNGER is written as an NYPD Crime thriller… except it’s not. The story is actually a vampire romance / horror thriller. The NYPD and FBI are after a serial killer—they just don’t realize it’s a killer who has been dead for several hundred years. It isn’t until the DNA evidence presents them with some disturbing information that they begin to have to accept the possibilities.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

Partly, because it’s commercial and a popular topic (vampire romance), and partly because I wanted my own brand of the genre. Vampire romance has become so clichéd and soap-operatic. I wanted a story that would attract that audience, but give them something NEW. Also, I wanted to see a contemporary horror story where the “good guys” don’t believe in vampires. Not a bunch of VanHelsing types who are vampire hunters, but rather, regular old cops, who do NOT believe in such nonsense. Until they HAVE to…

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

My characters aren’t “me”, per se; however my political views and patriotism are difficult to hide in my military / espionage thrillers. Crescent Fire was written right after 9-11, and my anger is obvious in some of the characters. I also try to give the “other side” as much as possible to make the story realistic. No doubt there are plenty of folks who hate America, and I like to show their ideologies in the story. If nothing else, perhaps it will serve as a reminder and a warning to remain vigilant in protecting this great nation.

How long did it take you to write your book?

I have written eleven novels. The fastest was three months to first finished draft. The longest was the first, and because it was a learning experience, it was a chaotic mess. Learning to outline has helped speed up the process. That first one tool over a year to first draft, and another year of revisions. It isn’t sold yet, but remains one of my favorites. (Hard Carbon is an international thriller about the Russian mob, synthetic diamonds, the FBI, and a whole lot of fun.)

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

I do a lot of research when preparing to write. The internet saves thousands of hours. Poor Michener must have spent years before writing “The Source”, an all-time favorite book. I can research everything from advanced weapons systems to tribal customs in deepest jungles, right from my home.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I write thrillers. No matter what genre—military, espionage, crime, horror…always thrillers. And that means at the end of the book, I want my reader to be exhausted because they stayed up way past bedtime because they HAD to finish it. I want them to close that cover and have a huge smile and say “Awesome…” as they put it down.

What are you working on right now?

The sequel to FOREVER HUNGER.

What is the easiest part of the writing process?

The easy part is making up the story. The work doesn’t begin until I start editing and proof-reading—yeuch!

Does writing come easy for you?

Absolutely. It is great FUN. I think about the story for days or weeks before I touch the keyboard. Only after I’ve watched the movie in my head for a while, and know the characters and beginning of the story at the very least, do I sit and start to write. Writing a book is the same as reading one—you’re totally absorbed and you want to see what’s going to happen next. Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character in your story because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you, his or her creator?

Have you written any other books?

I have finished eleven novels, four of which are available. I currently have Ben Bova trying to sell a deep-sea adventure thriller for me as I work on the sequel to FOREVER HUNGER.

Where do you get the names for your characters?

LOTS of my friends and family are in my books. I always tell them to be nice or they’ll end up dead in my book…

What genre are your books?

I have written international thrillers, military espionage thrillers, crime thrillers, a deep-sea adventure / horror thriller, and a vampire romance – urban fantasy horror story. The truth is, I am much more concerned with writing an original story that will grab and entertain my reader than I am with fitting neatly into any genre.

Do you have a saying or motto for your life and/or as a writer?

“Never, never, never, never, never give up.” Sir Winston Churchill. (Yup, 5 “nevers”.)

Where can people learn more about your books?

There are lots of reviews on Amazon.com, but folks can also learn more at DavidMSalkin.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,575 other followers

