Andrew Scorah, Author of “Homecoming Blues”

What is your book about?

Homecoming Blues is about Jimmy Dalton, medically discharged from the Parachute Regiment after an incident which left him suffering from Post Traumatic Stress. He is returning to the Streets and people he joined the Army to escape from. Son he is drawn back in when left with no choice but to help gang boss Phil Duggan who has a bit of hassle with the Russian Mafia. Events happen, not to give too much of the plot away, Jimmy ends up going after Duggan’s firm. The story started out as an experiment, I only intended it to be a short shory of five thousand words, it seemed to take over and say I want more words. As I was writing ideas would come to me, even walking to the shops stuff would kind of pop into my head and I had to add them.

Did you do any research for the book?

Some, for places I used Google Earth which is great and saves on the cost of travelling to destinations, you can walk the Streets where your characters hang out and see what they see all from the comfort of your workspace. Weapons and the other nuts and bolts again the internet, what a wonderful world of information we live in.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Since I was young I have wanted to write, in Junior School, aged about ten or eleven, the whole class was tasked to write a ghost story the winner to be included in the School magazine. I wrote about a man who is murdered then comes back and hounds his killer to his death. The story won and I think that is where it started. Life though as it is wont to do, got in the way and I did not get back into it till a couple of years ago. I am glad in one way as I now have a lot of life experience behind me which I believe helps a writer and I think I just answered three questions from your list in one.

When were you first published. How were you discovered?

I was discovered if you can call it that when I answered a call to submission posted by Matt Hilton on Facebook for stories for an Action anthology he was putting together. Based around the pulp novels of the seventys and eighties. I wrote a story called Eastern Fury, about a ninja warrior in 1865 who is sent to America to apprehend the son of his master for the murder of a clan member. I never expected it to be accepted but it was, the book is called Action: Pulse Pounding Tales Vol1 and can be bought from Amazon, features stories by Matt himself Stephen Leather and many more great writers.

Who gave you the best writing advice you ever received and what was it?

The best advice I received was from David Morrell, the creator of Rambo, again through Facebook, took me a while to get up the nerve to message him because to me he is like rock and roll royalty of the writing world. Anyway he told me to write write write and read read read which I have took on board and try and write every day even if I end up deleting all I have written.

Describe your writing in three words.

Dark, gritty, cool.

Where can people learn more about your books?

You can find me hanging out here http://andyscorah.blogspot.co.uk/2012_06_01_archive.html or look me up on Facebook.

4 Responses to “Andrew Scorah, Author of “Homecoming Blues””

  1. andyscorah Says:

    Reblogged this on andyscorah and commented:
    My first ever interview.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,573 other followers

