Alan Place, Author of “Pat Canella: The Dockland Murders”

What is your book about?

A man’s fight to regain his soul after leaving the shallow world of glamour photography, then his fight to regain it after being betrayed by a lady he thought loved him.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

Watching “Reality shows” on TV. The idea came from seeing one celeb complain about the heat in the desert, she never thought of the poor camera crews who had to haul cameras for her.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

Quite a lot of the main character is me, ex-photographer/ the wish to take real photographs not glamour shots / dislike of the celebrities and their disrespect for camera crews/ the love of the coast and sea life and not minding the weather to “get the shot.”

Tell us a little about your main characters.

Mark Johnson is an ex-glamour photographer, now turned photographer/demon hunter fighting his inner demons.

P A Canella is his former college mentor and long standing friend who tries to find what demons Mark is fighting and where their powers came from.

Lana Pawcel is a friend of P A’s, she is a writer and spirit reader who can see and feel the thoughts of the past.

Rachel Stockman, like Mark she was part of a group run at Uni by P A to enhance psychic abilities. Mark and Rachel share a great bond from those days.

Phil Moore, Mark’s oldest friend other than P A. For many years, Phil served not only as agent but Mark’s only contact with the world when he became a recluse after leaving the celeb scene.

Pat Sammels is an Aussie friend and the other member of the group that P A ran at college. A former bush pilot, known for going walkabout.

Annette Palmer, spirit painter and one time lover of Mark or so he thought.

My favourite characters are Mark & P A I like to think that I wrote them for my personality. I am more like P A than Mark.

Why will readers relate to your characters?

I hope the readers can relate to my characters as they all have characteristics and flaws. The hero (Mark) is not too gallant and noble as to appear unbelievable.

How has your background influenced your writing?

I was born in Yorkshire and spent many summers in Scarborough/Whitby. The seas and coasts feature heavy in not only this series of books but in my ghost stories, I love the winds and sea spray. The love of the sea flows through most of my work.

Are you writing to reach a particular kind of reader?

I am not writing to any particular readers as my works cross genres. I think if you write to a type of reader you raise the chance of missing your target. Take Pat Canella, is she for the Mike Hammer fans, is she a ghost story or is she ladies who want a strong female lead?. OR is she all to everybody?

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I have wanted to be a writer since I was at school, Pat. I just didn’t think I was that good.

I discovered writing when I was bout 10 or 11. The first story I can remember writing was a western. I was first published on line in October 2011.I sent a story to an editor friend for her magazine “Vintage scripts,” I was hoping with it being a ghost story that she would use it for Christmas. Instead she said I gave her the idea for an new on line page for Halloween.

Do you have any rituals that you follow before sitting down to write?

The only ritual I try to keep, is to keep the kettle on for the coffee LOL

Does your understanding of the story you are writing change during the course of the book?

My understanding is constantly changing as the character evolve their own lives, I never try to force them to do things that I feel don’t fit.

What is the most difficult part of the whole writing process?

The hardest part of writing for me is to stop thinking of new stories. I have about 20-30 just waiting to be written but I need to go back and edit others. Editing is the second hardest as my grammar is bad.

I have so many ideas, I had to devise an ideas file on my laptop. I had a great story once but life got in the way. When I tried to go back a day or two later I couldn’t think of it, that is when I chose to use a file.

What’s been the most surprising part of being a writer?

The most amazing things for me are :
Fans like my writing.
It makes no difference what genre I use, they like it.
My fan base keeps expanding to cover from Australia to Alaska and I have readers of all ages and occupations including doctors and CEO’ of companies.

What genre are your books?

My books are mainly Ghost stories and fantasy/horror.

Describe your writing in three words.

Chills and thrills.

Where can people learn more about your books?

I have a number of on line locations here is a list.
http://hereiamattheedge.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/riddle-me-this-riddle-me-that-who-wrote.html
http://indieauthornetwork.weebly.com/alan-w-place.html#.UBPcxmG5A6M
http://angiesdiary.com/author/alplace/
http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/al+place/pat+canella+28ebook29/9205282/
http://www.amazon.com/Al-Place/e/B0076M5BNG/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Al-Place/e/B0076M5BNG/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0
http://www.writersgettogether.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/old-church-ghosts.html
http://www.linkedin.com/profile/edit?trk=tab_pro
http://pinterest.com/alanplace/
https://www.facebook.com/awplace
http://www.scribd.com/alan_place_3

One Response to “Alan Place, Author of “Pat Canella: The Dockland Murders””

  1. Mari Collier Says:

    Good interview. Much success for your story.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,575 other followers

