Zachary White, Hero of “The League of Delphi” by Chris Everheart

What’s your story?

My father died mysteriously ten years ago. My mother changed my name and took me away from home, forbidding me to ever return, then went into hiding to die alone. Now I’m seventeen and on my own … and I’m back. I’m hiding in plain sight in my own hometown and uncovering an ancient conspiracy that will control my life – or kill me trying.

Who are you?

I go by the name Zachary White, but I can’t tell you my real name. If I did, you and I would both be in grave danger from the Committee who runs this town and the League of Delphi they answer to.

How do you see yourself?

I’m lost, without a family, a home, or an identity. It’s like there’s a giant hole in the middle of my life.

How do your friends see you?

The friends I left behind at the boarding school in France know me as a regular, low-key teenager. But most of them don’t know the real me. I met Ashley after I moved here. She’s the only one who sees me for who I really am – even though she doesn’t know my real name.

How do your enemies see you?

They don’t see me. They don’t know I’ve returned. And they have no idea what I’m capable of doing to them – but they’ll find out.

Do you have money troubles?

Money is one problem I don’t have. My parents left me with a secret bank account, which is supposed to be for my education. They wouldn’t like knowing that I used the money to come back to Arcanville.

What do you want?

I want to reconnect with my hometown, find out who I am, who my parents were, and why my mother took me away. I also want to know why Sutton, a kid I knew in grade school before I left here, killed himself a few days ago – and why no one in this town seems to care.

What do you need?

I need something to anchor me. If I don’t find out where I belong in this world I’m afraid I’ll just drift away into nothingness.

What, if anything, haunts you?

Burying an empty casket in my father’s grave when I was seven years old.

Do you like remembering your childhood?

No. Dad died in a plane crash in the Atlantic when I was seven years old. Mom changed my name, and abandoned me in a French boarding school. She rarely visited — and only in secret when she did. Childhood was miserable, lonely, and full of lies. But I can’t escape it.

Did you get along with your parents?

Dad died mysteriously ten years ago and Mom died alone last year. I never fought with my parents, never rebelled, never decided I don’t want to be like them when I grow up — I never had the chance.

What in your past would you like to forget?

The hollow look in my mother’s eyes the last time I saw her. She looked exhausted and empty. She’d been pursued by the League of Delphi from the day she stole me away and had deteriorated mentally and physically so much that I hardly recognized her. It scared me. I wish I could only remember her as young and pretty — not the prematurely old and tired face I saw in the school chapel that midnight.

How do you envision your future?

I can’t see my future because I don’t even know what my past is. I only want to crack into the Committee’s secrets and expose the deception that the League of Delphi uses to stay in control. The rest doesn’t matter.

What is your favorite item of clothing?

My black hooded sweatshirt. Because it allows me to cover my face, sneak around at night, and not be seen by the Committee and the League of Delphi. When I make them pay for what they’ve done to Sutton, to Ashley, to my parents, and to my life, I’ll show them my face at last and make them wish they’d never seen it.

***

Book: THE LEAGUE OF DELPHI
Genre: Thriller; YA; Conspiracy
Formats: Paperback; e-book
Length: 300 pages
Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/The-League-Delphi-Chris-Everheart/dp/0985912502/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1344010243&sr=1-1

Click here to read an: Excerpt From “The League Of Delphi” by Chris Everheart

3 Responses to “Zachary White, Hero of “The League of Delphi” by Chris Everheart”

  1. Sheila Englehart Says:

    Very intriquing character I’m interested in knowing as much as he wants to know himself.

  2. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Cool name and cool character


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,575 other followers

