Harley Michel, Protagonist of “The Doctor and the War Widow” by Viola Russell

Who are you?

I am Harley Michel, a lonely schoolteacher in the vibrant city of New Orleans, and the protagonist in Viola Russell’s THE DOCTOR AND THE WAR WIDOW.

What is your problem in the story?

My life is currently devoid of any real adventure. I teach high school and go home every afternoon to my chocolate lab, Nico. My beloved mother recently died, and my husband John died ten years ago in Iraq. My colleagues, sensing my loneliness, challenged me to enter an online dating site. I was reluctant to do it, and some of the early dates were a disaster. Then, I met an older, handsome Egyptian doctor named Abisi. He also is widowed, and his marriage was marked by unhappiness and loss. Throughout the story, we both must adjust to each other and learn to trust after a great deal of grief.

Do you run from conflict?

I don’t think many people “like” conflict, but romance with Abisi, my new lover, puts me on the path toward conflict with my mother-in-law, some of my family and friends, my school administration, and even a psycho ex-girlfriend of Abisi’s.

How do you see yourself?

I see myself as a more than competent teacher and as a very creative writer, but I’m not a person who trusts easily. I long for adventure and for someone with whom I can restart my life and share adventures.

How do your friends see you?

My friends see my life as sad and lonely. Not all of them know of my secret writing life. No one understands the intensity of my feelings for my late husband or the passion I feel for Abisi, my new lover. None of them would believe I’m a tiger in the sack.

Do you have a hero?

My mother Eden was my hero. She taught me to respect myself and follow my dreams. I do that with my writing. I also know my mother would want me with someone I love and who could share my life with me. She wouldn’t want me to succumb to grief or to wallow in self-pity.

Do you have a goal?

My goal is to be a successful writer and to leave behind the paralyzing conformity of my current life. In many ways my life is good, but I am too locked in my comfort zone right now.

What do you regret?

I regret not having a child with my first husband. We tried but weren’t successful. I also regret that I didn’t follow my heart and pursue my writing much earlier.

Has anyone ever failed you?

In the novel, Abisi fails me on an issue of trust, and I wasn’t sure I could forgive him.

Did you get along with your parents?

I was the adored only child of my parents. My father used to take me riding on his Harley. That is how I acquired my name. My mother and I were best friends. I’m mourning her when the novel begins.

What is your most closely guarded secret?

I secretly write contemporary and historical romances. My colleagues and administrators have no idea I do this. My books are adventure-filled and deal with frank issues of sexuality.

What are the last three books you read?

I’ve recently read TIN ROOF BLOWDOWN by James Lee Burke. I love mysteries set in Louisiana, and Burke is a poet. I also recently re-read Barbara Tuchman’s A DISTANT MIRROR because I want to write a novel in that time period. Lastly, I read Julia Baird’s IMAGINE THIS. It’s a wonderful portrait of growing up in Liverpool in the 1950s and provides a compelling look at John Lennon’s early life.

If you could change one thing in your life, what would it be?

My life is too safe, too ordered. The writing is fulfilling, but I sometimes need someone and something to take me from the safety of my computer. Working at the computer is fine, but need to leave the isolation of the computer–only to return and create a better world when I write.

How do you envision your future?

I hope that life with Abisi will be filled with new experiences, challenges and love.

Where can people find out more about you?

http://www.violarussell.com
http://www.violarussell.blogspot.com
http://redrosepublishing.com/books/product_info.php?products_id=1224

2 Responses to “Harley Michel, Protagonist of “The Doctor and the War Widow” by Viola Russell”

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    I like the safe ordered tone of voice.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,574 other followers

