J. E. Seymour, author of Lead Poisoning

What is your book about?

“Lead Poisoning” is about a retired mob troubleshooter who moves to New Hampshire to live with his estranged wife and their two teenage sons. Trouble seems to follow him, though, and it doesn’t help that he’s also a fugitive.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

This is actually the third book I wrote about these characters. I like the interaction of the family in this story, the way the main character has to learn to get along with his kids.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite? Why?

The main characters are Kevin Markinson, mostly retired mob hitman, his wife Cindy and their two sons, Andy and Michael. My favorite has to be Kevin. He’s a tough character to write about, because he’s not always likeable. He’s a bad guy, but he has a lot of good in him.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

I think Kevin is a very unusual character, again, because he is so unlikeable, but my readers tell me that they like him. By the end of the book, you are rooting for him.

How long did it take you to write your book?

Probably about two years.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

Because this is a continuation of the first two books, I had a pretty good idea of the story, but it took a while to sort out the plot.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

I did a lot of research for the series. Kevin is a former Marine, a Vietnam veteran, a sniper – and I spent a lot of time reading books and researching on the internet to make sure I got those details of his life right.

What’s your writing schedule like? Do you strive for a certain amount of words each day?

I don’t have a set number of words, I don’t always even get to write every day. I find it hard to keep to a strict schedule, I just squeeze it in where I can.

What are you working on right now?

I’m actually working on a middle grade novel about a twelve-year-old boy meeting his father for the first time at his mother’s funeral.

Does writing come easy for you?

No. It’s hard work. I love telling stories, but getting them down on paper so they make sense is hard work.

How many stories do you currently have swirling around in your head?

Tons! I’m always working on short stories, and I have a couple of novels I’m working on as well.

What do you like to read?

Crime fiction. Dark, gritty, noir. I love Lawrence Block’s Scudder series, but I also like the Bernie Rhodenbarr series. I also like Elmore Leonard and Donald Westlake, especially the Richard Stark books.

What advice you would give to an aspiring author?

Remember the three Ps – Practice, Patience and Persistance.

Have you written any other books?

Three other Kevin Markinson books, but they are not yet published.

Where can people learn more about your books?

jeseymour.com, Facebook, and Mainly Murder Press

Leave a Reply

