Victor Frank, the villian in “Better Off Without Her” by Rita Hestand

What is your story?
You don’t want to know. It’s too ugly and gory to do no tellin’.

Who are you?
My name is Victor Frank, I’m the villian from Better Off Without Her by Rita Hestand.

Where do you live?
My home, if you want to call it a home is in northern Pandhandle Texas. But I don’t live there, I move around a lot. I’m lookin’ for someone.

What is your problem in the story?
I’m trying to find the man who spent most of his time laughing at me as a kid. The man who sat around dreamin’ up things to do to me, to hurt me. I’m gonna kill my Uncle J.I.

Do you embrace conflict?
Never thought about conflict, don’t know what it is, what it means. I never went to school, so I don’t know what all words mean.

How do you see yourself?
I’m a shell of a man, I don’t know how to talk to people, how to act around them. Someone mentioned a war, I didn’t know what that was. Never will forget that rockin’ chair I seen at that woman’s house I stopped at. She shouldn’t ought to have punished that boy.

How do your friends see you?
Ain’t got any friends, never did.

How do your enemies see you?
Don’t reckon I got any of those either…alive

How does the author see you?
Ah…depressed, she knows me pretty well. She feels sorry for me and it depresses her to get in my head. But when she do, she knows me, she is the only one that knows me this well.

Do you think the author portrayed you accurately?
Yep she got me down good.

What do you think of yourself?
Aint never thought about it. There is one thing…I don’t like to see kids punished. It makes me crazy.

Do you have a goal?
Oh yeah, I’m gonna get my Uncle and do to him what he did to me. And I’m gonna laugh like he did too.

Do you have any special strengths?
What does that mean? I guess I’m strong, as I can choke a woman to death with one hand. I just lift her high up into the air, and squeeze real hard.

Do you have any special weaknesses?
Yeah, that preacher done confused me good. Didn’t understand a word of what he said. Made no sense to me. Talks about forgivin’ then he don’t.

Do you have any skills?
I can cut a finger off quicker than lightning.

Do you have money troubles?
Naw, I always stole what I needed off the dead.

What do you want?
To see my Uncle rot in hell like my Pa.

What do you believe?
That preacher asked me that, and I don’t know what you or he is talkin’ about. Believe in what? I only believe in helpin’ kids, that’s all.

What makes you happy?
Cuttin’ a finger off, or helpin’ a kid.

What are you afraid of?
Ain’t never thought on that too much. Used to be scared of my Pa and Uncle, but ain’t no more.

What makes you angry?
Women mostly, don’t understand them. Didn’t understand that lady that took her clothes off, don’t understand why women punishes their kids.

What makes you sad?
Thinkin’ on my life.

What, if anything, haunts you?
When I kill the kid’s mother’s they always cry. I don’t understand why. I did ‘em a favor. I killed their mean Mas. They is better off without her.

Do you like remembering your childhood?
I try not to think on it, it makes me crazy.

Did anything newsworthy happen on the day you were born?
It did to my Pa, my Ma died.

Did you get along with your parents?
My father and uncle hated me, blamed me for my Ma dyin the day I was born. I couldn’t hep it.

2 Responses to “Victor Frank, the villian in “Better Off Without Her” by Rita Hestand”

  1. redameter Says:

    Wow, thanks for having me, Pat. I appreciate it. Will send some folks around. Hope they enjoy or are amused to meet Victor.

    Love and blessings
    Rita

  2. Sarah McNeal Says:

    Well, Victor certainly scares the heck out of me, I can tell ya.
    A very interesting way to introduce a character, Rita.


Leave a Reply

