Maggie, Hero of Love Rules by Rita Hestand

Who are you?

My name is Maggie, the Rebels call me the “Black widow.” I’m a northern spy and a runaway slave. I’m a little over eighteen now, been livin’ here in this shack in Arkansas for thee long years by myself. All I got to do is report what I see to the Federals and I can stay here.

What is your problem in the story?

I’m a runaway slave who is trying to keep a roof over my head and the only way to do it is to spy for the Federals. I don’t like doin’ it, but what choice do I have. All of this created more enemies for me after the war was over. The prison guards wanted to kill me. I was supposed to hang for bein’ a spy, but they found out I was pregnant and couldn’t hang a innocent. This made the guards even madder, thinking it unjust.

Do you have a problem that wasn’t mentioned in the story?

Well…sort of. You see I ain’t never had a man before and I sorta went crazy when I first seen Jesse. I wanted him so bad. I never knew I could want a man like that. I let him have me any way he wanted, and enjoyed every minute of it. I was so young and foolish, but I just couldn’t help myself.

How do you see yourself.

I’m a mullato, half black and half white, daughter of a plantation owner and slave. I never meant to hurt anyone, I was just trying to get by. I want what every woman wants, home, family, a man to love her. Who’d have thought I’d fall for a white man…but I did. He was gorgeous and something inside me heated up the minute I looked at him.

How do your enemies see you?

Naturally the Rebs think I’m poison, that I meant to kill all those soldiers. Truth is I didn’t think much on it till I met Jesse, then everything changed.

Do you think the author portrayed you accurately?

Oh she got me down good. “Cept I didn’t know I was that sexy, but I won’t complain. Jessie and I made love like we invented the word. Lovin’ Jesse made me come alive as a woman.

Do you have a hero?

Sort of….Jesse is the nicest man I’ve ever known. The only white man I ever knowed that don’t see color. He sees you for what you are!

Do you have any special weaknesses?

Oh yeah, but I didn’t know about them till Jesse came along. I had a weakness for him. He was so handsome lying there, I couldn’t keep my hands off the man. I wanted him like no other man I ever knew. Deep down, I knew what I was doin’ when I brought him to my cabin. But, have you ever met someone and just knew you had to be with them. I fell in love….with Jesse from the moment I laid eyes on him.

What are you afraid of?

I thought I might lost Jesse when I went to report to the Federals after we made love all night long and he finally went to sleep. But I had to do it, you understand. They would have come after me for not reporting in.

What makes you angry?

That those guards blame me for all those men dyin’ at Pea Ridge. I wasn’t the only spy. I didn’t pull the trigger, I wasn’t even there. All I did was tell them where they were, that’s all!

What makes you sad?

That those men died…and I guess if I was truthful that it was my fault. I have to live with that guilt for the rest of my life. It ain’t easy. I was wrong to do it, I see that now.

What do you regret?

Going to the Federals after Jesse made passionate love to me. It was hard to do, but I was scared, and I knew they’d come lookin’ fer me.

What is your biggest disappointment? Jesse turnin me in like he did, He knew I’d go to prison. Bein’ black made it worse too. I couldn’t believe he could make love to me like he did and then turn me in. I figured he didn’t love me at all.

Do you have any distinguishing marks?

Oh yes, where my daddy whipped me. My daddy was the plantation owner and I tried to escape a lot. We lived in Louisana and I finally made it out of there with the help of the man who should have been my father all along. Only he died helping me escape. He was a good man.

Who is your true love?

Jesse Coleman, I knew it when he let me and Abby live there in his cabin and respected all my foolish Love Rules I set up. But mind you I had to set them up. When we first met we was foolish kids, but being grown, we had to act like adults. Sex was great, but I wanted the stability of a home and a man that loved me not just for my body. I had to know how Jesse felt about ME and our baby.

Was there a major turning point in your life? Oh yes, the day I looked down into that Reb’s face and fell in love with a complete stranger…a white man. I didn’t believe in love.

What is your most closely guarded secret?

Just how much and how deep my love is for Jesse Coleman. After the war I came looking for the cabin he told me about. I used the excuse I guess of wanting his protection, when what I really wanted was his love, and for us to be a family. But I had to know if he really loved me, or just wanted me like some whore. I needed to know if what we shared was deeper than that for him. Abby was his daughter, would he love her? I had to give him a chance to prove it to me, because I loved him so. Needed him so. So I set those Love Rules up. Jesse hated them, but he was a good man and I did trust him despite what he’d done to me. I needed to know if we could make it together or not. If he could live with the Love Rules, then I knew we could. Trouble was, I wasn’t at all sure I could endure my own rules.

http://www.decadentpublishing.com
http://www.ritaphestand.com

Click here for an interview with: Victor Frank, villain of Better Off Without Her by Rita Hestand

One Response to “Maggie, Hero of Love Rules by Rita Hestand”

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Great interview. Like listening to a real character!


Leave a Reply

