Laura Hamilton, hero of “Over Her Dead Body” by Karen Vaughn.

Are you the hero of your own story?

Maybe I am — maybe I am more of a death magnet

What is your problem in the story?

My upstairs elderly neighbor is found murdered

Can you tell us something else about yourself?

I am a personnel manager at my cousins restaurant The Moose Burger Emporium

Do you embrace or run from conflict?

I am never sure if I find trouble or it finds me and lands in my lap. I’d prefer not to deal with it; but I do if I have to and end up kicking ass big time

How do you see yourself?

Basically, I am a reasonably strong personally. I have a panic disorder but fight usually comes before flight

How do your friends see you?

strong, funny and cute

How do your enemies see you?

I hope I make them tremble with fear–like “oh crap she’s awake”

How does the author see you?

strong funny and sarcastic as hell –I think I am what she wants to be.

Do you agree with her analysis of you?

pretty accurate

What do you think of yourself?

I can handle most

Do you have a goal?

just to stay one step ahead of the bad guys–and no dead bodies for a little while.

Do you keep your achievements to yourself?

mostly I try not over play talking down a midget or battling killer bimbos

Do you have any special strengths?

I can truss up a little person in 5 minutes

Do you have any special weaknesses?

I crumble sometimes and i am a sucker for make-up sex

What do you regret?

How I handled breaking up with Lou

What, if anything, haunts you?

losing a baby years ago

Has anyone ever betrayed you?

Lou with his announcement that he was gay

Did anything newsworthy happen on the day you were born?

Saigon fell to the Viet Cong

Was there ever a defining moment of your life?

When I met Gerry again

What is your most closely guarded secret?

Not sure if I can have more kids due to my miscarriage but its fun to try.

Do you have any hobbies?

Besides fighting villains when necessary I play a mean game of poker

What is your favorite item of clothing?

pair of sweats and a hoody comfort clothes

Name five items in your pockets.

Kleenex, loose change, pack of gum, spare car key, cell phone

If you were stranded on a desert island, would you rather be stranded with, a man or a woman?

a man, preferably Gerry

One Response to “Laura Hamilton, hero of “Over Her Dead Body” by Karen Vaughn.”

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    She sounds a fun character.


Leave a Reply

