Rebekah Johnson, Hero of Instrument of Evil, by Lori A. Lowthert

What is your story?

My name is Rebekah Johnson, and I’m a 22 year old graduate student studying clinical Psychology. I want to be a therapist when I’m done with school. I love reading, and my favorite books are The Sound and the Fury and Catcher in the Rye. I have an unusual hobby, and one that’s very rare in women—I’m a serial killer. My book, Instrument of Evil, by Lori Lowthert, talks about my childhood, which was basically normal, my college years, and my path to killing.

Do you have a problem that wasn’t mentioned in the story?

Yes, I have a fear of public speaking. I can do it, but it makes me really uncomfortable. Many people are surprised when they find this out about me.

Do you embrace conflict?

Almost always, especially with my mother, who is hyper-critical of me. Then there are my killings, which are by their very nature conflictual.

How do you see yourself?

I am very intelligent, athletic, and a good friend to my best friend, Natalie. Despite thinking I would never fall in love, I have, and I have a wonderful boyfriend, Scott. I am a good girlfriend to him.

How do your enemies see you?

I don’t know that I have many enemies, but the few that I can think of are mainly jealous of me. From the outside, my life looks perfect to them, so I think they’re jealous of me.

Do you think the author portrayed you accurately?

Well, I actually wrote the book—I am the narrator, after all. So, yes, the portrayal is accurate.

Do you have a hero?

My main hero is my boyfriend, Scott. He makes me want to be a better person.

Do you have any skills?

I have many skills. I read really, really fast. I can break into almost any unalarmed building. I know a lot about human anatomy, which helps with the serial killing.

What do you want?

I want to be able to stop killing and to have a normal life with Scott.

Do you keep your promises?

I keep promises to other people, but I can’t always keep the promises I make to myself.

What was your childhood like?

You can read more details about it in my book, Instrument of Evil, but my childhood was pretty normal. I was enrolled in gymnastics when I was five, and showed a talent for it, winning Regionals one year. My coach and my mom wanted me to try out for the National teams, but I didn’t want to—I wanted to have a normal life.

Did you get along with your parents?

I got along well with my father, but he’s a pretty busy businessman, and worked long hours. My mom was a stay-at-home mother, and she and I did not see eye to eye on anything. We fought a lot. Our relationship is a lot better now.

Who was your first love?

My first love didn’t happen until I was 21, when I met Scott. It was almost love at first sight, but I was in denial about it for months. I didn’t think I was capable of falling in love, being a serial killer.

Was there a major turning point in your life?

The day I turned 21, I was able to access the trust fund my grandfather had set up for me to attend graduate school, and my parents told me they would no longer be paying for my last year of college. That was also the day I met Scott.

What is your most prized possession?

My hunting knife, which I have used in several murders. It has a good weight in my hand, has a nice sharp edge, and is long enough for many purposes.

What is your favorite scent?

I love the scent of vanilla because it reminds me of my grandmother’s baking.

What is your favorite music?

I like Indie rock because it doesn’t sound like anything else out there.

Where can we find out more about you?

https://www.createspace.com/3703658
http://www.amazon.com/Instrument-of-Evil-ebook/dp/B005TUG136/ http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/instrument-of-evil-lori-lowthert/1106520425?ean=2940013260429&itm=2&usri=lowthert

Also check out interview with: Scott Whittaker, a character in “Instrument of Evil” by Lori A. Lowthert

One Response to “Rebekah Johnson, Hero of Instrument of Evil, by Lori A. Lowthert”

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Definitely an unusual hobby. Intriguing.


Leave a Reply

