Scott Whittaker, a character in “Instrument of Evil” by Lori A. Lowthert

Who are you?

My name is Scott Whittaker, I’m 28, a former college lacrosse player, currently tending bar part-time at this great dive bar. I met Rebekah Johnson there one night, and we’ve basically been together ever since. I’m planning to go to grad school to get my Ph.D. in Philosophy, with the goal of becoming a college professor.

Where do you live?

I currently live in Atlanta, Georgia, with a housemate I am convinced is growing pot in his closet. I should move, but it’s so much work. I grew up in New Canaan, CT, went to college in New Jersey, lived in NYC for a few years, and then traveled around the country for a while before ending up in Atlanta.

You said you wanted to be a philosophy professor. Who’s your favorite philosopher?

Hmm, that’s a tough one. I’d have to say it’s either Nietzsche or Heidegger. I can’t narrow it down more than that.

How do your friends see you?

They would say I’m a pretty good guy, but that I’m kind of a wild man.

What do you mean by “Wild man?”

Partly the traveling all over the country for a few years like Jack Kerouac, partly that I can party kind of hard, and partly my reputation as a ladies’ man. I’ve been arrested a few times for public disturbances and being drunk in public, things like that.

Do you keep your achievements to yourself?

I don’t like to brag, and talking about my achievements feels like bragging. And there are a few achievements that are secrets.

What makes you happy?

I love spending time with my girlfriend, Rebekah. She’s such a smart, fun person to be around. I can do nothing when I’m with her and feel happy. I also like lighting up a joint and getting high, while listening to Pink Floyd.

Has anyone ever betrayed you?

When I was living in New York City, I went on one date with this woman, Carmen. We both got kind of drunk and got carried away. I didn’t see her again because we didn’t really hit it off. The next thing I know she’s calling and telling me she’s pregnant, and that it’s my baby. We met up and talked, and we both agreed that she was going to have an abortion. I gave her half of the money for it. When she got to her appointment, she had a change of heart, but she didn’t tell me. I only knew that she didn’t have the abortion when I happened to run into her when she was in her eighth month. She told me she was raising the baby on her own and wanted nothing to do with me. I argued that since she decided to have the baby, she decided that I was going to have a child, and that I should have parental rights. After the baby was born–a girl, Annie–I had paternity testing done to make sure she was mine. Carmen was still insisting that she was going to raise the baby alone. She allows me some limited contact now, but not very much. I tried to pay her child support, but she wouldn’t take it, I guess because she thought that would entitle me to parental rights. It’s a messed up situation.

Do you have any distinguishing marks?

I have two tattoos, one of a four leaf clover on one forearm, and Annie’s name tattooed on the other. I have scars on my left knee from when I had ACL surgery.

What was your childhood like?

It was a happy childhood. I have an older brother, Matthew, and he and I were always very competitive. We both played sports–he played baseball and I played lacrosse, so we didn’t compete about sports too much. We were competitive about grades in school, at least until we were both in high school, when my wild child partying days began. We’re still somewhat competitive, especially about our colleges. We both went to different Ivy’s–I went to Princeton and he went to Yale–and we argue about which is the better school. I have a little sister, Alison, who’s just wonderful. I was always getting in fights to protect her, not that she needed it.

Did you get along with your parents?

I got along with them until I got to high school and was partying all the time, then we got in a lot of fights. I somewhat redeemed myself by getting into Princeton, but after college they disapproved of my lifestyle. Especially after Carmen got pregnant–they wanted me to marry her, which I wasn’t about to do. I’ve been completely cut off from them for the past few years.

Who was your first love?

This girl, Amanda, when I was 13. I thought she was the most beautiful girl in the world. We dated for a year, then she broke my heart and left me for a football player.

What is your most closely guarded secret?

I have a lot of money. I don’t want to say how much or how I got it.

What is your favorite scent?

There’s this perfume that Rebekah wears, Pink Sugar by Aqualina, that I just love. I love the smell of it mixed with her skin. At first it smells like strawberries, and then later it smells like caramel, vanilla, and cotton candy. It’s intoxicating.

What is your favorite music?

I like the Rolling Stones because they’re the best band on the planet.

What are the last three books you read?

Beyond Good and Evil by Nietzsche, The Girl Who Played with Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, both by Stieg Larsson.

Where can we find out more about you?

https://www.createspace.com/3703658
http://www.amazon.com/Instrument-of-Evil-ebook/dp/B005TUG136/ http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/instrument-of-evil-lori-lowthert/1106520425?ean=2940013260429&itm=2&usri=lowthert

Also check out: Interview with Rebekah Johnson, Hero of Instrument of Evil, by Lori A. Lowthert

One Response to “Scott Whittaker, a character in “Instrument of Evil” by Lori A. Lowthert”

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Sounds a very real character. Nice interview


Leave a Reply

