Renea Winchester, Author of “Stress-free Marketing”

Why did you write your book?

Stress-free Marketing: Practical Advice for the Newly Published Author by Renea Winchester was written after meeting many self-published and emerging authors who were struggling to sell their books.

How long did it take to write?

It took a year to write Stress-free Marketing. My publisher, Make Your Mark Publishing, did an excellent job with the book. I was actually writing another book and cast it aside after meeting many emerging authors who had invested tens of thousands of dollars in books they could not sell, I knew someone had to help authors understand the business side of the writing life. I wrote Stress-free Marketing during my spare time while on tour with my first book, In the Garden with Billy: Lessons About Life, Love & Tomatoes.

What was your goal in writing the book?

My goal is to encourage authors to perfect their manuscript and make certain that key identifiers are in place prior to releasing their work. Having an ISBN number is not enough data if you want distributors (meaning booksellers) to offer your work for sale.

What did you learn from writing this book?

Marketing and promoting my work has been a lesson in relationships. Sales of my first book were well above the national average. However, I invested huge chunks of time marketing the book. I reached out to book clubs, community clubs…everyone who loves to read. I spoke to countless clubs and attended festivals. Don’t expect friends and family to support your career. If you want to sell your title, you must believe in your work and reach out to strangers.

What is your advice to aspiring authors?

My advice to aspiring authors is simple: become a student of both the art and the business of writing. Then, never, ever give up.

What are you working on now?

Currently, I’m traveling across the south, leading workshops that teach other authors how to market their work. Coming next from Renea Winchester: In the Kitchen with Billy, a sequel to my first book. I am also trying my hand at a novel.

Where can we learn more about your books?

My publisher is giving away a free copy of my book December 2011. To register visit my blog:
http://adviceforauthors.wordpress.com Those who leave a comment or follow the blog are registered to win a free copy.

Learn more about me at http://www.reneawinchester. Learn more about Farmer Billy at http://blogthefarm.wordpress.com I am also on facebook and twitter @reneawinchester

One Response to “Renea Winchester, Author of “Stress-free Marketing””

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    The more I read about it the more I know I need this book. I’m heading over to your blog to find out more (and follow).


Leave a Reply

