Lori A. Lowthert, Author of “Instrument of Evil”

Welcome, Lori. How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

I had the idea on a Tuesday, and was writing by the following Monday. I had the whole story roughly plotted out by the end of the week.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I just started with the idea of a girl who thought she wanted to kill people, and that developed into a story about a female serial killer, which is very rare. I wanted her to be very intelligent, and to think she could get away with anything. As a psychiatrist, I am fascinated by the dark side of the human mind, and wanted to explore that.

How long did it take you to write your book?

The first one, Instrument of Evil, took me about six weeks to write. The upcoming second book, Judgment of Evil, took about two months to write. I am currently working on the third book of the trilogy, and I project that it’s going to take a little over two months to write.

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

I want readers to come away with the idea that people can be very bad, but still have good qualities.

What’s your writing schedule like? Do you strive for a certain amount of words each day?

I try to write in the mornings, when I feel I am at my most productive. My goal is at least 3,000 words a day.

Do you have any rituals that you follow before sitting down to write?

I am addicted to Spider Solitaire, and I try to win a round before I start writing. I limit myself to 5 games, because I don’t always win!

Are you writing to reach a particular kind of reader?

I am trying to reach readers who are interested in the inner workings of a serial killer, It’s not for everyone, but with the popularity of the Showtime series Dexter, about a serial killer, I feel like my market’s out there.

Does writing come easy for you?

Sometimes it comes easily, and sometimes it is torture to get any words on my screen.

Do you have mental list or a computer file or a spiral notebook with the ideas for or outlines of stories that you have not written but intend to one day?

I have a little list on my “Ideas” Word document, which mainly contains ideas about the story I am working on currently.

How many stories do you currently have swirling around in your head?

Counting the current story I’m writing, I have four story ideas rattling around. Next I’m planning to write a YA paranormal romance.

Who gave you the best writing advice you ever received and what was it?

My psychiatrist told me to keep writing as much as possible, and to remember all the rejections several famous writers got before they made it.

Where can people learn more about your books?

People can learn more about my books, including reading an excerpt of Instrument of Evil, at http://www.instrumentofevil.com. I’m also on Goodreads and Facebook.

2 Responses to “Lori A. Lowthert, Author of “Instrument of Evil””

  1. Viola Russell Says:

    I, too, love it when an idea comes easily. Plotting a book in one week is amazing. When I wrote Love at War, I thought I was great when I finished the whole thing in five months.

  2. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Just started plotting but it might take more than a week. Nice interview–sounds an interesting book.


Leave a Reply

