Jocelyn Modo, Author of “Revolution Lovers”

Welcome, Jocelyn. What is your book about?

Revolution Lovers, a sci fi romance, is about a disabled war vet named Adie who is at the end of her rope. Her entire unit was massacred in the war, she’s in way too much physical and metal pain, and she’s just…done. That is until the planet’s crown prince, Zin, storms into her life, demanding her fealty.

Adie is nothing if not patriotic and completely loyal to king and country, making it impossible for her to say no to the prince’s mission, which is to marry him so that he doesn’t have to marry the enemy.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

When Adie’s character began bitching at me, I started writing right away, which was about three years ago, but with all my other projects, I didn’t have Revolution Lovers ready to submit to my editor until late last year.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

I don’t know if I’m hidden in the characters or if they’re hidden in me. A little of both, I guess. Adie often reacts like a wounded animal, lashing out at people who get too close because she’s frightened and vulnerable, while Zin is a healer, a nurturer, he has so much strength and he needs every ounce of it as he learns and loves Adie.

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

I think it’s important that the reader take away the message that they find, not the one I’ve specifically written. I have noticed an overarching theme of redemption in my stories—not sure what that says about me.

What are you working on right now?

I’m revising the sequel to First Heat and hope to finish sometime this century. I’ also outlining a new sci fi romance that I’m very excited about. I’m already in love with the characters and can’t wait to write their story.

Does writing come easy for you?

Some days it’s the easiest, most natural thing in the world—like a breath of sweetly scented air—and other times it’s difficult and painful—like holding your breath under a million miles of water.

Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character in your story because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you, his or her creator?

In Revolution Lovers something truly horrible happens to Adie…I’ve avoided that scene since I wrote it. I can’t look at what I did to her, don’t want to face what I did to my beloved character. I feel silly saying it, but I feel guilty about hurting her.

How many stories do you currently have swirling around in your head?

I’d say a half dozen or so, but not so much stories as characters and certain scene that speak to me. They disturb my sleep, break into my dreams, and haunt me until I write them down, give them an outlet on paper.

Have you written any other books?

First Heat, Ellora’s Cave
Paradise Moon, Ellora’s Cave
On Vixen, Ellora’s Cave
Neck of the Foot, 6Goldfish
I Wish I Might, Yellow Silk Dreams

Purchase Here: http://www.amazon.com/Jocelyn-Modo/e/B0047E8UR0/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Where can people learn more about your books?

Check out my site at http://www.jocelynmodo.com.

4 Responses to “Jocelyn Modo, Author of “Revolution Lovers””

  1. Ninad Says:

    ill be sure to check out your books!

  2. Jocelyn Modo Says:

    Thanks Ninad! I’m putting together a contest to win a free copy of Revolution Lovers so be sure to check out my blog this next week!

    http://jocelynmodo.blogspot.com/

  3. Dee Krull Says:

    Jocelyn,
    I enjoyed reading our interview, I agree with you about characters being more in us rather than we are in them. I love my characters and from the sound of it so do you. I will defiantly put your book on my to read list.

    Dee

  4. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Heading over to your blog! Nice interview.


Leave a Reply

