Chris Redding, Author of “Blonde Demolition”

Welcome, Chris, What is your book about?

The official blurb: You just can’t hide from the past…

Mallory Sage lives in a small, idyllic town where nothing ever happens. Just the kind of life she has always wanted. No one, not even her fellow volunteer firefighters, knows about her past life as an agent for Homeland Security.

Former partner and lover, Trey McCrane, comes back into Mallory’s life. He believes they made a great team once, and that they can do so again. Besides, they don’t have much choice. Paul Stanley, a twisted killer and their old nemesis, is back.

Framed for a bombing and drawn together by necessity, Mallory and Trey go on the run and must learn to trust each other again―if they hope to survive. But Mallory has been hiding another secret, one that could destroy their relationship. And time is running out.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

I’m not sure any of me is hidden in the characters. I think it’s more than Mallory has traits I wish I had. She has such a sense of right and wrong and for me life is a littler grayer.

What was the most difficult part about writing the book?

I think the most difficult part of writing the book was actually after it was sold. I did more revisions on this book that all others combined. Not that that is a complaint. I believe the publisher has almost as much passion for this book as I do. She wants it to succeed so Blonde Demolition wasn’t going to be published until it was perfect.

What has changed for you personally since you wrote your first book?

When I wrote my first book for publication, I was pregnant and had a toddler. I hadn’t written in years. I was living and it was as if this pregnancy woke up my creativity. Now, that child is 13 and the older sibling 16. They are more self-sufficient so it isn’t wiping butts and noses anymore. It’s driving them places and picking them up. It’s more time in some ways, but less time in others.

How does your environment/upbringing color your writing?

Oh, my upbringing could be a post in and of itself. But. I think you will in find that very few of my characters have parents. They are either orphans or the parents have already passed. I was not close to my parents so I couldn’t begin to construct what a healthy relationship with a parent is.

What’s your writing schedule like? Do you strive for a certain amount of words each day?

My writing schedule tends to be haphazard. I have a finite amount of time and energy between kids, husband and part time job. I may not write for weeks on end. Why? Most likely because I am working on soemthing else like a workshop or a series of blog posts. When I am knee deep in writing, I do 5 pages a day.

Do you prefer to write at a particular time of day?

I prefer writing in the morning.It’s when I have the most energy. Creativity takes a lot of energy.

What was the first story you remember writing?

The first story I every wrote was in fifth grade about an old lady with many cats. The teacher gave me an A and let me read it in front of the class. When I finished, the class was silent. Suddenly I wasn’t that four-eyed awkward kid. That’s when I knew I wanted to write.

Does writing come easy for you?

Writing comes easily to me. The only reason is because I trust that the words will be there. Even if I’m ready to sit down and I have nothing, the words will be there. A mechanic doesn’t approach a car repair thinking, “I wonder if I’ll figure it out.” Nope, they just dive in and fix it. A writer who wants to do this for a living has to look at it as a profession. A plumber never says they just aren’t feelling the plumbing today. Nope, they just do it.

Have you written any other books?

My other books are:
The Drinking Game, in print and Kindle/Nook.
Corpse Whisperer, Kindle/Nook
Confessions: Volume One, Kindle/Nook
Incendiary, print and Kindle/Nook
A View to a Kilt, pring and Kindle/Nook

Links:
http://www.chrisreddingauthor.com
http://chrisredddingauthor.blogspot.com
http://www.facebook.com/chrisreddingauthor
http://www.twitter.com/chrisredding

2 Responses to “Chris Redding, Author of “Blonde Demolition””

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Your comment about revising makes me feel better, since I’m busily editing my first novel at the moment.

  2. Book Bits #76 – National Book Awards, Ann Patchett’s store, Barnes’s ‘The Sense of an Ending’ and more writer’s links | Malcolm's Book Bits and Notions Says:

    […] Chris Redding, Author of “Blonde Demolition” – “I think the most difficult part of writing the book was actually after it was sold. I did […]


Leave a Reply

