Roy Askham, author of “Edward and the Twisted Queens”

Welcome, Roy. What is your book about?

“Edward and the Twisted Queens” is about a man by the name of Edward. He is a builder who is hired by Queen Anne of Medieval Scotland to carry out work at the palace. The Queen is suffering from a multi-personality disorder; her moods change back and forth from a compassionate caring woman to a sadistic nymphomaniac.

Edward is keen to evolve at a spiritual level, however, he believes that his need for sexual gratification may be holding him back. His sexual antics are the reason he is hired by the Queen; she intends to blackmail him by threatening to tell others that he is a pervert.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

I had the idea for my novel about three years before I actually put pen to paper.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I believe we are all evolving at a spiritual level and I wanted to pass on my beliefs to others. I thought that a novel about a man who is evolving, may be a good way to pass on my beliefs.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

All of my spiritual beliefs are also Edward’s beliefs.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite? Why?

The main character is Edward, he is my favourite, his ideas are very similar to my own.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

My most unusual character is Ian McIntyre; he is an eccentric aristocrat and also a thrill seeker. The antics he persues are usually very dangerous for both himself and others.

How long did it take you to write your book?

It took about a year to write on and off at various stages.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

I had the basic outline in my mind before writing it and then made up the rest as I went along.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

The story is set in Medieval Scotland, consequently, I did research on the medieval era via the internet.

How do you develop and differentiate your characters?

I develop the characters in order for the main character “Edward” to persue his goals and experience the things he needs to experience in order to make his story realistic.

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

No specific tecniques, I make up most of the story as I go along.

How (or when) do you decide that you are finished writing a story?

I have the story ending in mind before I start, when I reach my goal, it is finished.

Where can we find out more about your book?

It is available in the ebook format at Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Edward-Twisted-Queens-ebook/dp/B005JTAHUK/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1318327392&sr=1-5

2 Responses to “Roy Askham, author of “Edward and the Twisted Queens””

  1. Roy Askham Says:

    I would like to say thank you very much Pat for the chance to tell others about my story. Regards, Roy.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,561 other followers

