K. Rowe, Author of “Dragonslayers: Battle Rhythm”

What is your book about?

“Dragonslayers: Battle Rhythm” is the third book in the series about an unlikely Special Forces unit tasked to do battle with terrorists anywhere on the planet. The first two books are titled: “Project: Dragonslayers” and “Dragonslayers: Mind Games.”

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite? Why?

The two main characters are Lt Col. Eagle Tryggvesson, and Maj. D.M. Elliott. Eagle is Norwegian by birth, but came to the US and wanted to serve her new-found country. She has long been interested in special operations, and has a dream to put together a small, elite team which would take the fight to the terrorists. Maj. D.M. Elliott doesn’t realize his rather interesting background until he’s thrown into Eagle’s motley group. As things progress, he finds a deep love for her, although it’s against regulations. They form a partnership that brings the team together and makes them a nearly unstoppable force.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

I put many hours of research into each book. As well as being retired military, I do tons of internet searches to get information for the books. My husband is also retired special forces, so I have a great resource in him as well.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I guess the goal for the DS series would be to enlighten the non-military person and help them understand what special operators go through on a daily basis. Things like PTSD are still not well understood in society, and my characters suffer from it, and have to deal with their families who don’t always understand. It can be frustrating and heartbreaking when family does not get the son or daughter they sent to war back as they were.

What is the most difficult part of the whole writing process?

Editing! Granted I use an editor, but I still do several rounds before it goes to her, and when it comes back from her, there’s always lots of “blood” that needs to be taken care of. Over the years, I’ve gotten better, but I still hate editing.

Does writing come easy for you?

Writing comes WAY too easy for me. I liken it to a disease that the only way you can feel better is to get the words out and the story written.

Do you have mental list or a computer file or a spiral notebook with the ideas for or outlines of stories that you have not written but intend to one day

I have gobs of files on my computer for stories that I’ve written and haven’t yet published, or are in the “design” phase. Currently, besides the 4 novels I have out, there are at least 5 others in the works right now.

Who gave you the best writing advice you ever received and what was it?

My best friend always gives me good advice. She’s also my toughest critic! I’ve NEVER gotten a 5 star review from her. But, I admire that, because she’s brutally honest and I know that being a good writer requires the ability to accept criticism.

What advice you would give to an aspiring author?

Don’t expect mega sales right from the start. If you do, you’re darned lucky! All the other authors I’ve spoken with say it takes 6-9 years to become truly successful. Well, I got at least 3-6 more to go!

It takes 6-9 years? That’s interesting. How are you marketing your books?

I market on Facebook, Amazon, Twitter and word of mouth. No, it’s probably not enough, but when you have a 100 acre farm to take care of as well, you gotta divide your time.

Where can people learn more about your books?

I’m always putting out new books and short stories. The best places to find me are:
http://www.amazon.com/K.-Rowe/e/B003H2UCNI/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/sturgeoncreekpublishing
http://www.facebook.com/pages/K-Rowe-Author/136794706391542
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Project-Dragonslayers/411626645650
twitter: sturgeon3736
http://sturgeoncreek.blogspot.com/
https://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/K-Rowe?keyword=K.Rowe&store=allproducts

One Response to “K. Rowe, Author of “Dragonslayers: Battle Rhythm””

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    I like that writing disease analogy–I know I’m not much fun to live with when too many words get backed up in my brain. Sounds an interesting series.


Leave a Reply

