Nicholas White, Hero of “Spider’s Dance” by Will Graham

Who are you?

My name is Nicholas White. I’m a computer security consultant and electronic forensics analyst.

Where do you live?

Currently, my fiancée Michaela and I live in Houston, but we’re considering a move to the UK. That’s home to her, and I don’t have any family left, so there are no real ties here in the States.

Are you the hero of your own story?

“Hero” might be too strong a word. I ran across some information I wasn’t supposed to, and all of a sudden my only goal was to get out of the mess alive. It was close, but I had some luck, and got out of it.

Do you embrace conflict?

My grandfather was an Irishman from the Auld Sod, and he taught me “Na sir ‘s na seachainn an cath”: Neither seek nor shun the fight. I don’t like confrontation, and won’t start one, but if pressed…. well, as I said, I don’t look for it.

How does the author see you?

Will Graham has done what I would say a more than fair job. His title, SPIDER’S DANCE, is a little over the top, and he made me a lot calmer than I am in real life. Michaela laughs a lot at some of the things he wrote about and, according to her, I was nowhere near as cool when we were dating as Will described me, but I’d say he got me around 95% accurate.

Do you keep your achievements to yourself?

Well, a lot of them I do. Various Non-Disclosure Agreements over the years, you know. Most of them have probably expired, if such things ever do, but frankly, I think most people would find them dull and very un-interesting. I know Will had to get permission from the Department of Justice and the FBI to write about some of the incidents in SPIDER’S DANCE and especially PRODROMOS, but I’d really rather not go into that.

Do you have any skills?

Well, I know a little bit about computers.

What, if anything, haunts you?

Oh, that one we don’t talk about. A couple of cases that didn’t work out the way I’d hoped. Michaela yells at me all the time about that, especially a young girl who went missing several years ago. I wasn’t called in until she’d been gone for two weeks, and it didn’t end well. Her body was found almost two years later, but that one still bothers me sometimes. A lot.

Have you ever failed at anything?

Are you kidding? My successes might seem impressive, but when compared against the failures, the successes pale into miniscule insignificance.

Have you ever failed anyone?

I’ve made some mistakes that had unintentional consequences, but deliberately set out? No.

Are you honorable?

I try to be. Whether I am or not, well, I’m not the best judge of that. I know I can irritate people easily, but I don’t do it on purpose.

Have you ever had an adventure?

Oh, one or two. I’ve been fortunate that my work has taken me to places and cities I probably never would have visited. Although, there was this one time in Las Vegas that was supposed to be a vacation, but it turned into something else entirely. Will Graham has written about that one, too. It will be in THRILLER 3: LOVE IS MURDER from ITW, June of 2012.

What is the most important thing that ever happened to you?

Ironically, a murder. A co-worker was killed in his office, and my fiancée was one of the investigating officers. That’s how we met. That’s a true story. We met over a homicide. Life works funny sometimes, but there you have it. Tell me God has no sense of humor… go ahead, try.

Do you have any hobbies?

Well, if you want to count my DVD collection, I guess I collect old movies. I love the old Universal Monsters, anything with Bogart, Alfred Hitchcock’s movies (nothing past PSYCHO, I’m afraid) and I read voraciously. We have an iPad, and a Kindle, and a Nook, but I still buy traditional books depending on the subject or author.

What are the last three books you read?

BLOOD & TREASURE by Jennifer Bray-Weber, TARGET OF BETRAYAL by Melissa Ohnoutka, and THE BLACK STILETTO by Raymond Benson. I enjoyed and unreservedly recommend all three of them!

9 Responses to “Nicholas White, Hero of “Spider’s Dance” by Will Graham”

  1. lorettawheeler Says:

    Great interview, Will and Pat:) Loved the tid-bit of how you met your wife:) I find God’s humor and timing, intriguing also…

    Lo

  2. jbrayweber Says:

    Great interview, Pat, Nicholas, and Will. Gotta love a man who’s humble and speaks so much of his fiancee. That say a lot about him. Can’t wait to catch up with Nicholas and Michaela in Spider’s Dance.

    Oh, and thanks for the shout out. ;-)

    Jenn!

  3. Susan Muller Says:

    Nicholas White sounds like someone I’d like to meet. Will Graham, I not too sure about.

  4. joylene Says:

    Interesting and insightful interview, ladies. I love how these characters believe they really do exist. LOL. Kinda of scary, come to think of it.

    Much success with your book, Jennifer.

  5. Marie Says:

    This is such a great interview! I enjoyed the character “Nicholas White” and am looking forward to further adventures.

  6. jdfaver Says:

    Insightful interview, Will. Good to know more about Mr. White. Look forward to more adventures.
    ~J

  7. Tess Says:

    What a super interview!!! Just loved it!

  8. Meb Bryant Says:

    Thank you, Pat, for allowing Nicholas White to bring his friend, Will Simon, to the interview…or vice versa. I foresee therapy in their future. Maybe they can co-author a novel. Looking forward to your booksigning, Will.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,561 other followers

