Timothy Louis Baker, Author of “Fantastic Florida Fun”

Welcome, Timothy, What is your book about?

Fantastic Florida Fun consists of a teenage boy meeting a young girl while traveling in Florida and their involvement with each other surrounding the girl’s father who is a kingpin in the crime and drug world. Who evidently is or has been having an incestuous relationship with his daughter. The young man attempts to have the girl remember so she can explain to him but she apparently can not since the method used to induce and reduce her to the incestuous rape by her father is hypnosis and she can’t over come it.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

My idea for my book appeared in my semi conscious thoughts even a few years before I began writing it but I had other works at hand. Trying to finish the other projects I kept this one on hold until I had time to write it. That only took a few months once I had set aside everything else I could and focused solely on Fantastic Florida Fun and so was soon completed.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I had spent time in Florida during the 70′s era when this book is about and I had been involved in the crime and drug world there. I knew the suject matter of one of the main topics and was quite capable of building the rest of the story around that circumstantial place setting.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

All of the characters in my book are somewhat similar to some people that I have met sometime somewhere but the one most like me is Mark, the young man that is traveling through Florida simply because he was exiled from his home in the midwest after a confrontation with his parents. I had similar circumstances in my teenage years but I had not necessarily be kicked out of the house every time, instead took off for Florida many times as a teenager simply to see what there was to see. Once at 29 years of age I was exiled from my parents home and did spend a little time in Florida then too.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

The ideal of the story as a whole showed up a couple of years prior to writing it, the entire mental outline of the book took place forming in my mind the night before I actually started writing.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

The researching I did for Fantastic Florida Fun was quite coincidentally right out of my past. Since I had traveled in Florida many times while hitchhiking and also by my own car and cars of others, it was very easy to use my creative writing abilities and write Fantastic Florida Fun.

What was the first story you remember writing?

The first story I started to put down on paper was an autobiographical look at my own life’s story and now I do have three autobiographical books out. Search my name Timothy Louis Baker

Does writing come easy for you?

After publishing seven books and a multitudinous amount of journaling writing does come easy to me now. I think, I work my fingers over the keyboard, words appear into sentences, paragraphs, chapters and I’ve got my story down.

Do you have mental list or a computer file or a spiral notebook with the ideas for or outlines of stories that you have not written but intend to one day?

I always have a mental list of what I want to include in my stories but they elude me while I’m writing at present and I don’t think of them until the gift of instinct says they are needed, then I take those creative ideas and expound on them in writing and soon the full thought is recorded and I proceed to the next one on the list.

What, in your opinion, are the essential qualities of a good story?

The ideas that make up the best stories in my opinion are those that are so real to the reader that they could actually be so and not out of a book. Keeps the reader interested in the topics if the book reads this way. Readers I think like to see what the read as though it were actually happening in front of me.

Who gave you the best writing advice you ever received and what was it?

The best advice I ever received from anybody was when a Mark Twain impersonator told me when I asked him the question of what to write about he said, “Write what you know.” I have since researched Mark Twain, the real one, and he reportedly often gave that advise to authors when they asked him the same question in real life back when he lived.

Where can we learn more about your book?

Fantastic Florida Fun is available in either paperback and/or e-book forms from many online bookstores including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books*A*Million, BookWhirl and Google. The book is also available from Baker’s Official Author Website @ http://sbpra.com/authortimothybaker Book Blog World @ http://timbaker.bookblogworld.com @ AuthorsDen @ http://www.authorsden.com/timothylbaker Facebook Fan Page @ http://tinyurl.com/457nas7

 

One Response to “Timothy Louis Baker, Author of “Fantastic Florida Fun””

  1. Book Bits #94 – James Robertson at the Jimmy Carter Library, best magazine covers of 2011, Anita Desai, Terra Hangen | Malcolm's Book Bits and Notions Says:

    […] Timothy Louis Baker, Author of “Fantastic Florida Fun” with Pat Bertram – “Timothy Louis Baker, Author of “Fantastic Florida […]


Leave a Reply

