Dan Makaon, Author of “Goodbye Milky Way” An Earth in Jeopardy Adventure

What is your book about?

It’s an epic tale of global danger. The survival of the human race depends on the secret plans of an eclectic team of scientists, an extraterrestrial, and a sentient computer, Aieda, who’s adopted a female persona. Tom is a freelance project manager with a reputation for getting results for corporations and governments. But he’s never been up against a challenge like this. He leads a harrowing expedition to Antarctica and discovers an ancient secret that can help save mankind.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite?

My favorite character is the Guardian, a diminutive gray alien from a highly technologically advanced race of space-faring beings.

I found it challenging to develop an alien personality. Should he be distant or cordial? Formal or informal? Braver than humans? Condescending toward us, or paternal? The choices are endless. In the end, he’s a serious character, but not at all what one might expect from a being so much more advanced than humans.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

Aieda, the sentient computer, is the most unusual character because she feels like she’s female and tries to mimic the behavior of women.

How long did it take you to write your book?

Not counting at least a year daydreaming about how I should structure the plot, it took a solid three years to write it in its final form.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

I did an extensive amount of research on the Internet and in the library in order to make the people, places and science as real as possible because the plot is intended to be an alternate version of modern history, extrapolated into the future.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

First, I write to entertain, so I hope readers enjoy the novel. Second, I write to make people think about possibilities, about ways to go about solving problems. Finally, I hope some of the characters stay in the reader’s mind long after finishing the book.

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

I love to incorporate a number of subtle messages in my stories. It’s fun to wonder if readers pick up on them.

How has your background influenced your writing?

There’s no doubt my career in industry and my education have helped me write science fiction. I write about what I know best, and that’s whatever relates to science and management, with a bit of military experience mixed in.

What are you working on right now?

I’ve been pondering the plot of my next sci-fi novel for the past six months and I’m ready to put pen to paper.

Are you writing to reach a particular kind of reader?

I feel my target audience would include adult fans of action-adventure, science fiction, thrillers, mysteries, or military fiction. I would say my writing is similar to Michael Crichton and Clive Cussler.

What, in your opinion, are the essential qualities of a good story?

In my opinion, the most important aspect of a good story is expressed by a motto on one of my business cards: “A good novel compels our attention to the end.”

Where can people learn more about your books?

I would welcome visitors to my website, http://www.danmakaon.com where they can link to a book trailer on YouTube. There they can find out more about me and “Goodbye Milky Way.” The website also has my blog called, “Science and Society.”

Title: Goodbye Milky Way – An Earth in Jeopardy Adventure
Author: Dan Makaon
Website: http://www.danmakaon.com
Publisher: eFfusion Publishing Group LLC
Hardcover and eBook available on Amazon, B&N and other bookstores
Hardcover is discounted on above author’s website

3 Responses to “Dan Makaon, Author of “Goodbye Milky Way” An Earth in Jeopardy Adventure”

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Nice interview. Sounds like the sort of book my husband and I would share.

  2. Dan Makaon Says:

    Pat, thanks for the interview opportunity. Dan Makaon


Leave a Reply

