Stephen Michael Marek, Author of “Almost”

Hi Pat, My name is Stephen Michael Marek and I am the author of “Almost” an Editor’s Choice Award winning mystery thriller.

Hi, Stephen, What is your book about?

“Almost” is the story is of a highflying business executive, Tag Grayson, and his quest to close one of the biggest transactions of his life. When Grayson discovers his potential client has a murderous past, he has him right where he wants him – desperate.

With a criminal background, client Nate Dillianquest is anxious to sell his mother’s healthcare business after his family’s fortune is lost in a pyramid scheme. As Grayson and Dillianquest finally meet, Grayson has no idea that Dillianquest will do anything to keep what is rightfully his. Suddenly, Grayson is propelled into a web of greed, secrets and blackmail woven by a conniving southern patriarch and a pair of strikingly beautiful women. Just as Grayson realizes he is dealing with a master manipulator who wants revenge in the worst way, his life is turned upside down.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

As a traveling business executive, the “what if” game has always intrigued me. When I wrote “Almost” I let me imagination run away with “what if” and once started there was not stopping!

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

“Almost” is set in South and takes place in a nursing home setting, which is where I have spent thirty years of my professional human resource career. My parents recently passed and my immediate family’s dysfunction plays a large part in developing the storyline within Almost. I relied a great deal on my professional experiences and family dysfunction to bring the characters and circumstances to life on the pages. Needless to say, Almost has a lot of me in the main character.

How do you develop and differentiate your characters?

I had spent many years thinking about this story, but when I actually began to put finger on keyboard, it was fun to watch the development of each character, as well as the storyline take place. It was as much fun for me to discover what was going to happen each day when I sat down to write as it has been for the readers to read about the twists and turns the story and characters take on their journey through the pages. I let my imagination run while keeping it the reality of their situation something that is very relatable to readers.
The reviews I have received from readers have compared Almost to the stories of Grisham and Patterson. Pretty good company!

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I wanted to write an intriguing story about what could happen when money, sexual obsession and master manipulators are thrust upon an unsuspecting traveling business executive. My intent is to create a fun book for the reader and for that reader to have a smile on their face when they read the last words and wonder what is going to happen in the next book.

What are your current writing goals and how do you juggle the promotional aspects with the actual writing?

I am hoping to attract an agent or publisher that will allow me to write the sequel to Almost. I also am preparing to write a memoir about my own families dysfunction as a result of losing both parents. What I have gone through along with my professional background will make for a good book for others to read and learn. With the aging of America, there are literally millions of families who are taking care of their parents and in the process, are going through significant difficulties brought on by sibling guilt, and often times, family greed. I think I could be of help with many who are or will experience these types of family difficulties.

Have you written any other books?

I am in the process of writing a 4-bbok management series of cultural sustainability. My professional work has been geared towards creating an employee-centered workplace culture. My intention is to provide workplace managers the tools and mechanisms necessary to sustain a culture that is employee-centered through a Legacy Management System.

Where can people learn more about your books?

“Almost” is featured at http://www.Almost.AuthorsXpress.com along with my blog. The HR text books can be found at Stephenmarek.com.

Thanks, Pat, for your time.

Thank you, Stephen, for answering my questions.

One Response to “Stephen Michael Marek, Author of “Almost””

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    It’s a wonderful title, and the cover would certainly attract my attention in a store. Sounds an interesting book too. Enjoyed the chance to find out about you.


Leave a Reply

