Elaine Garverick, Author of “The Darque Princess Chronicles”

Welcome, Elaine. What is your book about?

The epic novel, “The Darque Princess Chronicles”, is about all the things I love to read about–history, time-travel, adventure, and self-examination.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

That day, or the next. I was overly excited and anxious to get the bones down on paper.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I was working on a book, largely autobiographical, and I was having a difficult time maintaining distance from the main character. I decided to make others carry the burden of my confessions. The princesses just sprang to life. I felt more like a channeler than a writer.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

All of me, but I can’t tell you which princess(es) are bearing most of the load. It’s a secret.

What are you working on right now?

The infamous, aforementioned autobiography.

What’s been the most surprising part of being a writer?

The demanding characters. I created them, but most insist on talking, giving advice, interrupting my thought processes…it’s like raising children!

What writer influenced you the most?

Because I really didn’t want to answer this question, I guess I will. Nobody spoke to me in my youth the way JD Salinger did…and still does. I never wrote to him to tell him how monumental his work was for me…thousands of adolescents were already doing that, and I guessed my adoration might too much for him to stand.

What one book, written by someone else, do you wish you’d written yourself?

I love Frank Herbert’s “Dune” series. And Ian Pears’ “The Dream of Scipio” is a close second. Also. “The Source” by James Michener…this could go on forever.

Who gave you the best writing advice you ever received and what was it?

It was in one of those “So You Wanna Be a Writer” books years ago. It’s a cliche, but worth mentioning. “Write about something you know. Write about something you love.

Where can people learn more about your books?

Elves are at work on a website. Domain name is “DarquePrincess.com” Elves are complaining re busy holiday season. Elves are hostile. I am also considering Amazon/Kindle if I can ever figure out their format qualificaions.

Leave a Reply

