Crystal Keys, a Character in “Angel Unawares” by Carol Jackson

Welcome, Crystal. What is your story?

Carol Jackson wrote about me and my boss, Lee Morgan, in her book “Angel Unawares, a novel.”

Who are you?

I’m Crystal Keys. I’m a news video tape editor at Channel 6, in the midwestern United States city of Marshall.

Are you the hero of your own story?

Hardly! That would be Lee.

What is your problem in the story?

I was working at Channel 3 editing news and was fired because they thought they lost an exclusive news story because I was carless. They fired me and blackballed me. I couldn’t get a job. I tryed everything, even burger joints and couldn’t get a job. Bad references, I’m sure. I got depressed & started drinking. Really I was falling apart. And then one day Lee called & hired me. Just that fast!

Do you run from conflict?

I try to avoid it. My nerves are shot.

How do you see yourself?

Now? I’m growing. In the story I was just scared. Scared Lee would find out I’d been fired. Scared I’d screw up. Scared I’d wind up unemployed again.

How do others see you?

Quiet, I’m sure. I kept to myself. Hopefully as a good editor.

Do you think the author portrayed you accurately?

TOTALLY! She really understands me!

Do you have a hero?

Lee. I never met anyone like him. He’s–different. VERY different than anyone I’ve ever met in television. He doesn’t seem power hungry. So many people in television are power hungry, especially managers. They don’t care who they step on or stab in the back to get ahead. And he’s fair. I’ve actually seen him stick up for people. Lots of other things.

Do you have a goal?

I want to be a good editor and stay out of trouble.

Do you have money troubles?

I did when I was out of work. I nearly lost my house.

What do you want?

Security.

What is your most closely guarded secret?

I was afraid Lee would find out I had been fired. I was afraid of what he might do if he knew. That turned out to be an ungrounded fear.

What are you afraid of?

Making mistakes and getting fired again. I was deathly afraid Lee would find out I’d been fired.

What do you regret?

I did a lot of things I regret when I was unemployed. I drank a lot then, among other things. I’m sure I did other things I regret while I was drunk, but mercifuly don’t remember some of them.

What if anything haunts you?

The memory of getting fired. The things he was yelling at me. The way he did it. All the fear and self doubt that built up. And the fear it could happen again.

Has anyone ever betrayed you?

I learned I didn’t cause the station to loose that exclusive news story, some one else did. But I’ve only recently learned that.

What in your past has had the most profound effect on you?

Getting fired. And getting hired by Lee.

What in your past would you like to forget?

Some of the things I did while I was unemployed. The drinking took care of some of that for me.

Who is your true love?

I don’t have one! (smiles) Yet. I’m- considering possibilities.

was there a major turning point in your life?

Getting hired by Lee. He turned my life around. He got me back on track. He gave me a chance.

How do you envision your future?

Wide open! I’m investigating different possibilities. I’m open to everything. I’m looking forward to the future.

Thank you Crystal for your time. Good luck!

2 Responses to “Crystal Keys, a Character in “Angel Unawares” by Carol Jackson”

  1. A. F. Stewart Says:

    A great interview. It sounds like Crystal’s been through some troubles.

  2. Sheila Deeth Says:

    She sounds very real too. I like how these two have such different characters and voices


Leave a Reply

