Lee Morgan, Hero of “Angel Unawares” by Carol Jackson

What is your story?

Carol Jackson wrote about Crystal and myself in her book “Angel Unawares, a novel.”

Who are you?

My name is Lee Morgan. I’m the ENG manager at Channel 6, in Marshall. I’m in charge the technical end of the Electronic News Gathering operation. I’m in charge of the editors & photographers. I maintain the news cameras and editors and all the eqipment. Anything and everything in the technical end of the news.

Are you the hero of your own story?

Is there a hero in our story? It just seemed to me Carol wrote down what happened just before I left Oakland, and then some of the things that happened with Crystal after I hired her. … Crystal seems heroic to me. She’s been through a lot, and come out on top. She has quiet a strength about her, but I don’t think she knows it. … Well, maybe she does now.

What is your problem in the story?

I decided to take a job at a station in Marshall that was expanding thier news operation. I helped with the expansion, installing the new equipment and hiring new staff to run that equipment. I hired Crystal as an editor without knowing she was fired from her prior job. Once I did find out about that, I understood why she was so uptight. I don’t care that she had been fired before. I think she does a good job, so I encourage her. I try to help her build her confidence back.

Do you run from conflict?

Like anyone, I try to avoid it, but when it comes along I try to settle it.

How do you see yourself?

(shrug) Just an average guy.

How do others see you?

Probably as a guy who’s good with the equipment. I try to be a fair manager and look out for my people.

How do your enemies see you?

I hope I don’t have any enemies, but I can be trying if someone gets on my bad side.

Do you think the author portrayed you accurately?

I think so. Carol just wrote down what she saw, what I said and did. I didn’t let her in on my thoughts a whole lot. I’m kind of private that way.

What are your achievements?

I’ve done a lot of different things in the technical end of television. I’ve done production and all the different positions, studio camera, audio, video tape, editing, technical directing, lighting and so on. And I’ve worked on all the equipment. I’ve done air operations, Master Control, projection, and worked on satellite receivers. And I’ve worked on television transmitters and all the broadcasting equipment. I’ve done news, like I’m doing now. I’ve done camera on news remotes, and done news editing. I work on all the ENG equipment too. I’ve done just about everything in the technical end of television over the years. I’ve also managed those departments and the people in them. I was actually chief engineer at one station where I worked. I like to think I helped develop those departments, and left some pretty good people in charge when I moved on.

Do you talk about your achievements?

It’s all on my resume.

Do you have any special strengths?

I’ve been told I’m a good listener.

Do you have any special skills?

I’m good with television equipment. And I’m pretty good under pressure, I think.

Do you have any weaknesses?

I think maybe I’ve got adult attention deficit disorder. I always like a new challenge. I’m easily bored, as you can see from my resume. (laughs) I’ve got a temper, when I get upset. I don’t blow up though. My wife says I do a “controlled boil.”

Do you have money troubles?

No. I make decent money. My wife works, and she just got a promotion. We don’t have kids and we live modestly. We don’t need much to get by.

What do you believe?

I’m Catholic. … Oh, uh, I believe in giving people a chance. That’s all anyone really wants is a chance. Give somebody a chance and they will run with it. And thats good advice too. If someone does give you a chance, take it and run. Sorry, a little off topic there.

Do you have any distinguishing marks?

I don’t like to talk about it. It’s embarrassing. My wife likes my gray hair, though. Some of the “on air” types keep telling me I should dye it. That’s crazy. Its not me.

Are you lucky?

I think I’m very lucky.

Are you healthy?

Yes. I don’t have any health problems. I do lift weights sometimes to try to keep fit.

Who is your true love?

My wife Abby. She may not have been my first love, but she’s my true love.

How do you envision your future?

I’ll just keep woking. I may have to stay at channel 6. I’m probably too old now for any other company to be interested in hiring me. I was surprised Channel 6 would hire a guy my age. Maybe Channel 6 will be able to hold my interest for a few more years. I don’t know. We’ll see.

Thank you for your time, Lee. Good luck in the future!

3 Responses to “Lee Morgan, Hero of “Angel Unawares” by Carol Jackson”

  1. michealrivers Says:

    Great interview. Sounds like a man who just wants to live life without a lot of BS. I like this character.

  2. A. F. Stewart Says:

    Nice interview. The Lee is a very different character from Crystal.

  3. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Sounds a very real guy.


Leave a comment