Jetta Stone, Author of “Silver Moon”

What is your book about?

Silver Moon immediately splinters into several different stories as it encompasses four separate lives. What makes the story interesting is that although each individual is struggling with their own issues, there is a common thread tying them together and that thread is the business they have contracted into as co-owners. Money is the key and they hope to make a lot of it in this new business venture. Their hope is that this business will offer the launch for the change each person wishes for in their personal life. One wants to leave a relationship – one wants to desperately hold onto a relationship – one wants to realize a life long dream – while another wants to prove their self-worth. All want change, and all get change; however, little did they know what lay ahead for them in the process. Horrific consequences of this venture soon occur and bring about dark changes full of conflict, struggle, danger, and loss. Yet, in the end, a lost relationship from the past resurfaces to see them through those dark unsettled times into a very different future.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story? Silver Moon is a modern western romance.

My husband owned a Rodeo Company for several years, and during that time I worked for the company. I fell in love with that Old West Culture – Rodeo is a New Twist of the Old West. The story started coming to me, piece by piece at first, then in a deluge that I couldn’t keep up with. I had to pull over to the side of the road and write, I’d keep a pen & pad by my bed at night – I think I literally wrote in my sleep to keep up with the story and characters flooded my brain.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I love the rugged, untamed nature of the Old West Culture. Every generation has its heroes. Superman is one such character. Superman was a fictitious character, yet he was embraced for his bravery and moral values, which are the common threads which tie all heroes together. The American Cowboy is a real life hero whose memory has crossed generations. His courage and patriotism has been kept alive through music and the written word, and rodeo. The horses, those Stetsons and Boots, the competition to tame the wild beast are all captivating and perhaps a bit hypnotic.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

There is more of what I’d like to be in the book than what I probably am. The lead heroine is a patient, moral individual that has gone the ultimate to accommodate situations and other people, but when faced with an eternity of detriment to her well being, she finally decides to take action, no matter what the costs. On a pure act of faith, she takes some giant steps toward a new life. This takes some courage that I’m not sure that I possess.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite? Why?

Well, I love the female heroine in the story, Jessica Warnick, and I do classify her as a hero. What is a hero? A hero is someone who takes the appropriate action at the appropriate time regardless of personal risks. Sometimes that hero saves others, or saves the situation, sometimes the hero saves themselves.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

Oh, this one is easy. This character, Jake Warnick, is a person whom the reader will immediately develop a love/hate relationship with. They will root for him to overcome his demons, for he really wants to. They will get angry with him for his bad behavior and what it will cost him. They will be intrigued by his playfulness and women will lust after him even though he is a bad boy. Well, maybe that “is why” they will lust after him! Ha.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

A story has to be there for me, pretty much in its entirety, as far as plot goes, before I can sit down to write it. I am a plot driven writer. I have to know the beginning and the ending before I can sit down and start building the book on the plot framework.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I would hope that the reader would realize that all people have flaws in their character and behavior, even heroes have flaws. Sheer physical strength and bravery do not necessarily make someone a hero. Standing on one’s values, not giving in to the moral decay in society could be considered being heroic. Or, giving others the maximum time and effort to change, then having the courage to walk away when they do not change could be considered to be heroic.

What challenges did you face as you wrote this book?

I have a physical condition called Multiple Sclerosis which robs me of my energy and my eye sight. I suffer from low vision which hampers my writing. I also simply tire very easily and have to step back from the task at hand for a while. This is very frustrating because I am a task driven person who wants to get things done. I don’t like waiting.

Do you have any rituals that you follow before sitting down to write?

Soft music appropriate for the theme of the book, comfy recliner, favorite pen, delicious chocolate and a cup of steaming strong brewed coffee.

Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character in your story because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you, his or her creator?

It is so very hard for me to “kill off” a character. I cry the whole time I’m killing them off. I feel a real sense of loss.

What, in your opinion, are the essential qualities of a good story?

The main word is “believable”. The story has to make sense and be believable. A good plot is the core of a good story. Character development, conflicts, conquests, and resolve are key components. Solving real life situations with fictional characters in a believable scenario of events makes a good story.

Who gave you the best writing advice you ever received and what was it?

Don’t worry so much about what others will think of the story. Write the story from your heart, fall in love with the story; embrace it when you are finished with it. You can’t please everyone, so write something that pleases you.

Do your characters ever take on a life of their own?

I strive to make my characters very believable and they become very real to me. One day I was sitting in my office laughing when my daughter arrived home. She stood in the doorway and looked around to see no one else in sight. She said, “what is so funny?” I began to tell her about what this character said to that character, etc. She just stood there, shaking her head in dismay and said, “Mother, you do realize that those people are not real!” I laughed and said, “They are real to me!” She muttered as she was leaving the room, “You need a coffee break and therapy!”

Describe your writing in three words.

Intense, Believable, Dramatic.

http://www.amazon.com/Silver-Moon-Jetta-Stone/dp/0983349207/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1331742435&sr=1-1

2 Responses to “Jetta Stone, Author of “Silver Moon””

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Nice interview. And coffee is good!

  2. Does One Have to be a Coffee Drinker to be a Writer? « Bertram's Blog Says:

    […] From an interview with: Jetta Stone, Author of “Silver Moon” […]


Leave a Reply

