Lucinda Moebius, Author of “Raven’s Song”

Thank you for inviting me to post on your blog. Pat. I am excited to start off my book tour by telling your reader’s a little bit about myself and my craft. I hope I can do justice to your blog today and answer some of the questions you have for me. There is so much I can say about me as an author, the beautiful craft of being a wordsmith and the novels I write.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

The concept for this novel is we are all living our lives in days of turmoil. So much happens every day and we need to live in those times. Our lives are defined by the world around us and we can only learn to live by how we react to those events. The Haven Novels follow the Taylor family through five generations and tells the story of how this family learns to live in times of turmoil and war. The first two novels in the series are available for purchase.

What is your book about?

I actually have two novels available through Amazon. They are the beginning of a series about a family living in the dystopia of the not too distant future.

Echoes of Savanna

The first novel is about Savanna Taylor, a medical doctor in 2036, the same year terrorists release a series of plagues and viruses into the world. She is a nineteen year old Brain Trust whose task it is to find a cure for the diseases and develop vaccines to prevent their further spread. The world is thrown in turmoil and Savanna needs to find a way to survive with her sanity and family intact. She needs to find a safe Haven for herself and for those she loves. Her role in life is to build a safe Haven and a foundation for her family. She is the Parent Generation.

Raven’s Song

The second book is about Raven, Savanna’s impulsive, impetuous daughter.

Raven was born in a time of turmoil and war. She decides her calling in life is to be a soldier. Sacrificing the shelter and security of Haven, Raven puts herself at risk to save others. She finds herself in perilous situations and thrust into the role of leadership despite her own misgivings. The Siren’s Song of Haven is continuously singing to her. She could be safe, protected, sheltered and warm if she returned to Haven and its stone walls. But, is it her destiny to live in the walls of Haven, or is there another destiny in store for this child of Haven?

How long did it take you to write your book?

These novels started in a High School Creative writing class. I was teaching my students how to write short stories and we were all writing together. I happened to find an article on the Internet about the use of Animal DNA and stem cells to repair human genes. This concept fascinated me and I started to develop a character based on this idea. The story started to build from there and I spent the next three years researching ideas. In the end, one character developed into a five novel series I call “The Generation Novels”. Each novel covers twenty years of one person’s life. In other words: one generation.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

I started developing the story and researching information. The novel is Science Fiction and has a strong medical thread. I felt I wouldn’t be able to do it justice if I didn’t spend some quality time researching the information. I love learning and so I absorbed everything I could about the subject I was writing about. It took about three years of researching and writing before the first draft of Echoes of Savanna was completed and ready to be submitted for publication. It only took about a year and a half to write Raven’s Song, although I needed to research for her story as well. My research came from multiple sources. I have been a teacher and a student most of my adult life and I have learned to use research tools effectively over the years.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

More than anything I want my readers to enjoy my stories. These novels are about living in hard times and finding a place in this world. Life is hard and it is painful. I want my readers to realize living in hard times just polishes us and makes us shine with more beauty and strength than we could if we lived a soft, easy life.

What’s your writing schedule like? Do you strive for a certain amount of words each day?

My best writing happens between one and four in the morning. This is quite a challenge for me since I have a real job. I teach during the day and sometimes find it difficult to find time to write. Fortunately I manage to find the time to write on the weekends and during my breaks away from school. I find I am a better teacher when I write. My students know I am putting the skills and lessons I teach them into practice when they see the words come alive on the page. I have inspired many young people to pursue their dreams because they see me doing it every day. I set a goal to write a little everyday and read a little every day. It is impossible to set a limit to word count, but as long as I can spend a little quality time with my characters I am happy.

Are you writing to reach a particular kind of reader?

The series is designed for a variety of readers. When I first started writing I thought I was writing mainly for teenage girls and young women. I actually am discovering my readers cover the spectrum of readers from actually am discovering my readers cover the spectrum of readers from teenagers boys and girls to men and women of any age.

What advice you would give to an aspiring author?

My last word of advice is the same advice I received when I was a young student of the art. If the first thing you think of when you wake up is you want to write and the last thing you think when you go to bed is you want to write then you are a writer.

Where can people learn more about your books?

I have a website, www.lucindamoebius.com, where readers can go to find more information about me, my books and blog about what it is to be a reader and a writer. They can also find me on facebook: Lucinda Hawks Moebius

Website: www.lucindamoebius.com

Buy on Amazon:  Echoes of Savanna: http://www.amazon.com/Echoes-Savanna-Parent-Generation-ebook/dp/B006RM66QM/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_2

Raven’s Song: http://www.amazon.com/Ravens-Haven-Generation-Novels-ebook/dp/B006YJ92GO/ref=pd_rhf_dp_p_t_2

About the author:

Lucinda Moebius grew up in the mountains of Idaho and Eastern Oregon. Her mother taught her to read when she was four years old and since that time books have been her constant companions. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English Teaching, a Master’s in Educational Leadership and is currently pursuing a Doctorate in Education. Lucinda supports her writing habit by teaching High School and College. She currently lives in Boise, Idaho with her husband, stepson and their dog and cat.

 

 

5 Responses to “Lucinda Moebius, Author of “Raven’s Song””

  1. Lucinda Moebius Says:

    Thank you for having me on your blog. I love every chance I get to talk about my craft. The pictures look great.

  2. Book Bits #181 – Harry Potter e-books, Otsuka wins PEN/Faulkner, Maine book festival, ‘The Great Animal Orchestra’ | Malcolm's Book Bits and Notions Says:

    […] Lucinda Moebius, Author of “Raven’s Song” – “More than anything I want my readers to enjoy my stories. These novels are about […]

  3. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Sounds an intriguing future history

  4. Christina Luther Says:

    This woman, my friend, my teacher, my ….uh,…JUST UNDERSTAND SHE’S SPECAIL OKAY?. Anyhow, until this very day of our existence, I think of her most often. I would come to the college campus late, tardy, or w/ no excuse, but….having a teacher as BRILLIANT as herself, she could see if I was legit or not… Lets just say I was 60/40. LMFAO!… Yes, she is one of my ALL-TIME favorites, and lucky for me, I Knew her personally. Blessed be me, although I am Agnostic.

    LOVE YOU MS. MOEBIUS!!!!!!!!

    your favorite,

    Christina Luther
    Boise, Idaho


Leave a Reply

