Arthur Levine, Author of “Johnny Oops”

What is your book about?

Hi, my book Johnny oops is about a young man who doesn’t know whether he is a prophet, a charlatan or a sex maniac, but is convinced he has the word of God to deliver.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I don’t know what inspired me to write this book. It just popped out of my mind.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

I wish more of myself was in the principal character, Johnny oops, but some small parts straggle in.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

I think one of the best characters is Doctor O’Hara who goes crazy trying to straighten Johnny out.

How long did it take you to write your book?

It took me less than six months to write and four years to edit again and again and again.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

I had very little of the story in mind, but some thoughts about the main character and his smart ass attitude.

Did you do any research for the book?

Did some google research on Quantum Computing.

How (or when) do you decide that you are finished writing a story?

I usually get the idea for the end about half way through the book from the characters themselves. Hate to get it too early because then I have a tendency to race to the conclusion.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I want people to think they have had a worthwhile experience. There is always some spiritual or moral context to my stories.

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

I want people to know there is always a higher power guiding our lives without getting to deeply into religion. Wih me it’s more of a spiritual and faith building type of thing.

Does writing come easy for you?

Writing comes easily to me.I never have writers block. Editing comes hard. I am currently struggling to get out the next four of the eight books i have in manuscript form.

What genre are your books?

My books are all some form of fantasy.

Johnny Oops http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0041KL52M

Click here to read an Excerpt From “Johnny Oops” by Arthur Levine

 

5 Responses to “Arthur Levine, Author of “Johnny Oops””

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Great title. Sounds intriguing.

  2. mountainmama Says:

    Great feature – I love Arthur’s writing outlook!

  3. jennymilch Says:

    Hi Arthur! Nice interview. I agree about the editing coming hard…

  4. James A. Anderson Says:

    I’ve read both Arhtur’s books — Johnny Oops and Johnny Oops II. They are great fun reads and both 5-star.

  5. J. D. Michael Phelps Says:

    ARTHUR J. LEVINE has created characters so alive and rich in color, you will be laughing so hard, you will refuse to put this book down . . . and you will laugh and laugh some more just thinking of what you’ve enjoyed reading. JOHNNY OOPS II-TIMELESS follows Johnny Oops son, and his adventures takes the reader on a ride that is out-of-this-world, and the discoveries he makes will have you wondering . . . can it be real?

    Arthur J. Levine has a God given talent for writing and bringing some humor into one’s life. His new, soon-to-be released novel, “SEQUIN BOY AND CINDY” is an awesome romance novel that delivers many social messages and is a very inspiring novel, especially for young adults . . . as an ‘old’ adult, I highly recommend all three of Arthur J. Levine’s novels.

    Michael Phelps


Leave a Reply

