Rose Gordon, Author of “Her Imperfect Groom”

Do you have mental list or a computer file or a spiral notebook with the ideas for or outlines of stories that you have not written but intend to one day?

Absolutely. I have a folder on my desktop (screen, not my physical desktop) where I keep an ongoing list of plot ideas, complete with possible character names, titles for the books and a multi-paragraph synopsis.

Do you keep a pen and notepad on your bedside table?

Beside my bed. On the coffee table. In my purse. In the glovebox in my car. Two years ago I was on a camping trip that turned bad and we had to stay at a hotel one night. When we went to leave, I swiped the pad of paper and the pen from the desk and the next night, by the light of the campfire, penned the first chapter of my second book on a little 5×5 hotel pad. It was after this that I started stashing pads in every room.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

A lot. I tend to hide my traits in each of my characters, male or female. Good characters or villains. They all have at least one personality trait in common with me. I just can’t help it!

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

In some books, yes, but in others no. It really just depends on the book, but most of them do have a deeper meaning or have a theme I’d like them to walk away with other than, “Oh, that was entertaining.”

Do you prefer to write at a particular time of day?

Of course. The most inconvenient times of the day seem to be when I have the most ideas just suddenly flood me. Time to cook dinner, BAM! An idea. Time to go to sleep. BAM! An idea. Time to pick my kids up from school. BAM! An idea. I’ve learned you cannot force a book, so if you just let the idea come to you and have one of those many pads of paper handy, I can still capture it well enough for the moment and finish it later.

Do your characters ever take on a life of their own?

YES! My husband doesn’t believe me on this, but I have several renegade characters who I want to act a certain way, but then they do something completely different.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

Alex Banks. He’s a bit odd as he’s a total geek, which is rare for the time period I write in. He often says the first thing that pops into his head—whether appropriate or not and is obsessed with science. But he’s also extremely loveable as he’s rather naïve and innocent in a worldly way.

What’s your writing schedule like? Do you strive for a certain amount of words each day?

No schedule exactly. I just try to hit a certain amount of words each day. Some days I want to get a lot of words in and get past a major part of the book and other days, I have a lot of errands and stuff and just shoot for 1,000 words, just enough to keep the story going where I don’t get out of the habit of writing.

What was the first story you remember writing?

I was in third grade and wrote this 2-page story about a girl who ate garbage… Since I’d given the girl in the story the same name as the girl sitting next to me, I got into A LOT of trouble and didn’t write again until I was 7th grade and wrote a story where I personified an eraser.

Who do you imagine is your ideal reader?

Jaded housewives, young ladies who still dream of nights-in-shining-armor coming to their rescue, and anyone who has an open mind about characters who don’t fall into all of the same patterns that are so commonly written about.

Where can we learn more about your books?

From my author page at Second Wind Publishing: Rose Gordon

Leave a Reply

