Alex and Lisa Mendez currently starring in “Mourning Reign” by Edward Hancock II

Who are you?

Alex Mendez and Lisa Mendez. Police Detectives.

Where do you live?

We live in Gilmer, Texas and work for the Longview Police in Longview, Texas

Are you the hero of your own story?

Alex: I’d like to think Lisa is the hero

Lisa: Spoken like a man that wants to stay married.

How do you see yourself?

Alex: As unworthy of the responsibility placed on me as a Police Lieutenant. To say nothing of unworthy of such a great wife and kids. Humble, I guess, but grateful to be sure.

Lisa: As a mom and wife first. Police officer second.

How does the author see you?

Alex: I have heard him say, “Alex is the me that I never got to be.” I’m not really sure what he means by that. I’m me. He’s he.

Lisa: the ideal woman. Flawed, but accepting of those flaws.

Do you think the author portrayed you accurately?

Alex: Yes, we bicker, but it’s mostly for show…I think.

Lisa: Yeah, but why’d I have to be so tall? 5’9 for a woman is pretty large.

Do you have a hero?

Alex: Yes, Lisa

Lisa: Yes, Alex….but don’t tell him I said that. He thinks it’s my dad.

What do you want?

Alex: My wife and kids to be safe, secure and happy, now and forever. To walk closer to God and be a man they deserve.

Lisa: To see my children grow up to be good people. To effect change in ways I can only dream of doing.

What makes you happy?

Alex: Hearing my wife say she loves me. Hugging my kids.

Lisa: Alex when he’s fresh out of the shower…. Oh wait…. Is that what you meant by “happy”?

What are you afraid of?

Lisa: Being denied the opportunity to grow old with Alex.

Alex: Dying…. Leaving Lisa and the kids alone… unprotected.

What is your biggest disappointment?

Alex: My dad not getting the chance to meet Lisa and the kids

Lisa: My parents not getting to meet Alex and the kids

What, if anything, haunts you?

Alex: The memory of my dead brother…. I have real guilt about that because I always longed to do something before him. Him being the oldest, he did everything first. I used to pray that God would let me do something first. When he died, (in the line of duty) I was still a teenager. I felt as if it was my fault. In my adulthood, I still carry that with me.

Lisa: The fear of failing my children or my husband

Has anyone ever betrayed you?

Alex: You’ll have to read the rest of the series to find out.

Lisa: Not that I’m aware of.

Do you have any handicaps?

Lisa: I don’t play golf…sorry.

Alex: Yes. I fell 30 feet or so while chasing a perp once. When I am tired, stressed and whatever, it can cause me to limp. I have weak spells as well.

What was your childhood like?

Alex: The youngest of two children. I was always in Ted’s shadow. Until he died.

Lisa: The only child of kind parents who meant well, but weren’t perfect by any means. I loved them dearly and when they died, it cut me. I don’t talk about it, but it broke something in me. There’s a part of me that’s unable to emotionally attach… even to my husband. I love him and will kill anyone that tries to harm him. But there’s a part of me that even he doesn’t know. He just doesn’t know that. What’s the quote? A woman’s heart is a deep ocean of secrets? Well, it’s true.

Did anything newsworthy happen on the day you were born?

Lisa: I was born March 15, 1976. March 15 is the Ides of March. Wasn’t Julius Caesar killed on the Ides of March? But, as far as I know, nothing happened on that day in 1976, no.

Alex: May 12, 1969. 3 days after my birth, Apollo 10 was born on a full dress rehearsal for the eventual Apollo 11 moon Landing. To my knowledge, nothing on that specific day.

One Response to “Alex and Lisa Mendez currently starring in “Mourning Reign” by Edward Hancock II”


Leave a Reply

