Megan Held, Author of “Murder Never Dies”

What is your book about?

Oh my, it is difficult to describe. It is about a detective that had worked a case two years prior than the novel begins where she nearly died and killed the murderer. She is contacted by her old boss and lover, to come back and assist when the same murders are happening again. She has to try and catch the murderer she had killed. That is the best short summary I can give.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

I am hidden away in the main character. Some of her qualities and outlooks are similar to mine. She is braver and able to think more objectively than I can.

How long did it take you to write your book?

I went through a tough break with this book because I had to complete my university degree. It took me over 3 years to write it, sadly.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

I think about the story idea for a few days. Once I get a feel for it and can dream about it I begin to write it down on scrape pieces of paper. If I get past fifteen pages I move it into a journal so I can keep writing it.

What was the most difficult part about writing the book?

Deciding on who I wanted to murderer to be. It is always tough to have to do that, but it needs to be perfect to shock people.

What has changed for you personally since you wrote your first book?

I have become addicted to writing. Plan and simple. I haven’t stopped writing since I started and completed my first novel at the age of 12. Going on 12 years now.

How does your environment/upbringing color your writing?

My father and stepmother were both police officers, so I grew up with them. I would listen to all their stories to help ease their minds. All of them have helped my writing because I got the feel of being a police officer/detective and hearing about horrible criminals. Plus, I am from Canada so we have some pretty famous murderers, unfortunately.

What are you working on right now?

I am working on a YA novel. It is about 14 year olds getting recruited/selected to be a part of an elite group. They hear rumors. They get trained to be assassins and spies, losing any option of having a life. That is how far I have gotten so far.

Does writing come easy for you?

It does, but it doesn’t. Some days I can write more than five-ten pages, others I struggle to get a sentence out.

What’s been the most surprising part of being a writer?

The amount of people that seemed amazed I could do it. To me writing is a part of my life, while to some people it is a talent. Also, the great feeling of accomplishment after finishing a book. I have written seventeen and I still felt excited about finishing that one just like the first one.

What writer influenced you the most?

Tough call, but Iris Johansen for adult and I am a big fan of Veronica Roth and Suzanne Collins for my YA. I adapt and change if I find other writers that I like. Who knows, someone from this site could be.

Have you written any other books?

Yes, seventeen. I have self-published two others through http://www.lulu.com and http://www.smashwords.com. Just search for my name or the book titles of: 1440 and Unknown Caller.

Do you keep a pen and notepad on your bedside table?

I sleep with it and carry it with me everywhere I go.

What genre are your books?

Mystery/Suspense and Young Adult.

Is there anything else you’d like to tell us about yourself or your books?

Not really. You can find anything else about me through my blog and facebook page. Here are the links:

http://meganheld.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Megan-Held-Author/164551533569426

3 Responses to “Megan Held, Author of “Murder Never Dies””

  1. Megan Held Says:

    Thank you so much Pat! For my first interview it was fantastic. Felt like I was talking to fellow author.

  2. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Lovely interview. I must look out for your books.


Leave a Reply

