Miss Cheyenne Mitchell, Author of “The Covering”

What is your book about?

One of my novels is entitled The Covering. It is a supernatural thriller that tells the story of a vampire family raising two, normal, teenage daughters of their own flesh and blood.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

What inspired me to write a novel like this which was written in 1998, was the idea of vampires actually being able to have children. The story has a shocking ending, and is set in the early 1930s. However, you won’t know that until you read the novel.

How long did it take you to write your book?

It took me two years to write The Covering.

Why will readers relate to your characters?

I think readers will relate to the protaganist whose name is, Celia Bellis, because she knows that there is something very strange about her family. She and her sister, Drew, go on a terrifying quest to find out just what their family members are hiding from them.

How many stories do you currently have swirling around in your head?

I have a lot of stories whirling around inside my head, and always do.

If you could have lunch with one person, real or fictitious, who would it be?

I would love to meet and have lunch with Mr. James Cameron, whom I believe is one of the world’s greatest visionaries.

What sort of books do you write?

When I am writing a novel I try to write what I myself would want to read. I like a novel that will grab me by the first two pages at best. Beyond that I will start to get bored. Which is why my novels The Covering, as well as Syroia, are very fast paced, page-turners.

Describe your writing in three words.

My writing could be described as gripping, suspenseful, and exciting.

What are you currently working on?

As of right now I am working on screenplays for a few of my short stories, and one for The Covering which I know would make a fantastic movie.

What genre are your books?

My books would be classified as supernatural thrillers, and believe me they are.

When did you start writing?

I began writing poetry when I was six years old in the first grade.

What advice would you give an aspiring author?

My advice to any would-be Author is to first choose a genre. What do you want to write about, and have a lot to say about it.

Leave a Reply

