John Sharp, Hero of “One-Eyed Jack” by Christopher J. Lynch

What is your story?

I am John Sharp, aka, One Eyed Jack. A one eyed, professional blackmailer in the business of keeping secrets – other people’s secrets.

Are you the hero of your own story?

Hero…anti-hero…hero again. Who wants to be pigeon-holed?

How do your enemies see you?

If I do my job right, my enemies never “see” me. I am a note left on the window of their car, an unexpected e-mail, or a distorted voice coming from an untracible cell phone.

How does the author see you?

The author really likes me as we share many of the same traits and I serve as an alter ego for him. He let’s me do what I want, but occasionally has to reign me back in when I get too far off in the weeds.

Do you have any special strengths?

I am very devious and have a high degree of knowledge when it comes to eavesdropping, hacking, and surveillance techniques. It’s essentially, my “stock and trade.”

What, if anything, haunts you?

The moment when I standing inside the makeshift operating room in a Russian mobster’s house. A plastic surgeon the mobster was using to alter his identity, was getting ready to remove my eye.

Do you have any distinguishing marks?

Yes. I am missing my left eye as the result of the run-in with a Russian mobster. I also have numerous scars on my body from people who have tried to shoot, stab, bludgeon, or otherwise kill me.

What was your childhood like?

My childhood was very lonely. I was the only child of a military family and I grew up moving from place to place, never really having time to make permanent friends. My mom died when I was young and my father remarried. I never liked his wife and moved out on my own as soon as possible.

What is your most closely guarded secret?

All of my secrets are closely guarded. I make my living by finding out other people’s secrets and then using them against them. Who better than myself would understand the necessity of keeping my own secrets. None of my marks know where I live, what I look like, my e-mail address, or even my real name.

What is your most prized possession?

My Banchi 928 Carbon T-Cube, a custom built forty-thousand dollar racing bike that I extorted from a professional cyclist who was cheating by using performance enhancing drugs. I ride it on the bike path along the ocean in front of my condo to clear my head.

How do you envision your future?

I have no idea, my future changes minute by minute. I could be dead in a week or a millionaire, and this both thrills me, and terrifys me.

***

Christopher J. Lynch is the author of “One Eyed Jack”, a modern hard-boiled crime thriller about a professional blackmailer. He has a website: http://www.christopherjlynch.com

And a video railer for the book: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvraVL8dMY0

Follow him on Twitter: @cjly9090

On Facebook: Christopher J Lynch

Leave a Reply

