Keri Dudas, Author of “Angel in the Flames” (Interview)

What is your book about?

Angel in the Flames is about a prince named Castel who believes that he’s stumbled upon the missing Silean Princess, Rosaline. None of the main characters know that’s she’s actually Rosaline’s cousin, Persephone, who’s running from a Cyanese Tribe Leader who blames her for the death of his wife.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite?

I’ve four main characters who come together in this book. The prince, Castel; his friend and faithful knight, Pelinor; the femme in disguise, Persephone; and the Latriana (Queen) of the Astra Amazon Tribe, Dulcea.

It’s truthfully a tossup between Castel and Persephone. With Castel, he’s fallible; he’s his faults that messes him up at times that shows his humanity. But with Persephone, she’s a strong conviction to finish what she set out to do but, at the same time, her duty makes her question herself a lot which is something that most of us, as humans, do.

How long did it take you to write your book?

The initial draft took me all of two months to hand-write. Another month, give or take, of typing it up and editing and about a month’s worth of final polishing – which is what’s happening now to get it ready for its release in January.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

A floating, vague notion of wanting to write a love story…which the characters quickly took ransom of and spit something else back at me. I honestly had no idea what it was going to turn into until it was all over and I was staring at it with two other story ideas in my head.

How (or when) do you decide that you are finished writing a story?

With Angel in the Flames, the characters stopped talking at the end and said, ‘That’s a wrap!’ Their stories weren’t over, but that one was. With the others that I’ve finished, it’s a similar concept. They basically sit down, call a masseuse over and tell me to move on.

What are you working on right now?

Easier to ask what I’m not working on right now.

I’ve the Aurora Borealis short stories that I’ve been writing and publishing up on Smashwords; once I’ve a few of them I’ll out them into a collection.

But, the big novel that’s been pressing in my mind lately the most has been Princess of War. In this one, the Relic of Ares – the key to Ares’ immortal powers – has been stolen. He is sent across the Veil into the modern world where he must convince an archaeologist, Belle Tracey, that he is the God of War and persuade her to help him find it before the Moirae’s scissors begin to snipe away at his thread.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

No, not always. At first I wanted to be a veterinarian, then a manga artist and then a lawyer. Writing was just something I did to pass the time, to escape from my perils social life of playground bullies that grew into Edward Scissor-Hand Barbie dolls. Did I always have the imagination, yes, it got me into quite a bit of trouble when I was younger but I’d never had thought to be a writer until 2009. That was when I decided to step out of Fanfiction and drive head-first into the worlds I never even knew existed in my head.

What is the most difficult part of the whole writing process?

Condensing x-number of pages down into a synopsis blurb. I’m sorry, but I swear I’ll have an easier time fitting my toosh into a pair of size 0 skinny jeans than I ever will condensing my work into a blurb.

What is the easiest part of the writing process?

Writing the novel. Sure, I hit writer’s block, who doesn’t? But listening to the character talk and writing out the story as it unfolds is easy…especially if you trick your writer’s block into only blocking up one work-in-progress.

What one word describes how you feel when you write?

Free.

Writing has always made me feel free; free to escape reality when I need to, free to get lost in the worlds inside my head, free to be more myself. I feel more at ease writing than I do most anything else.

What do you wear when you write?

Usually my pajamas; they’re the comfiest.

Do you have mental list or a computer file or a spiral notebook with the ideas for or outlines of stories that you have not written but intend to one day?

I do, and it just keeps growing and growing and growing. I keep them organized in an expandable portfolio with the book title at the top and any information pertaining to the story in the pocket. I’m horrible for scribbling down ideas when I’m in some random location or when I’m in-between the lull of asleep and awake and one of my characters prods me awake going, ‘Write this down or you’ll never sleep.’

Do you keep a pen and notepad on your bedside table?

If you can call it a table…more often than not what’s next to me is the stack of notebooks I’m writing in and then there’s a pen on top of it all, like a small, spiral notebook castle.

How many stories do you currently have swirling around in your head?

Let’s see, there’s the second prequel and the sequel to Angel in the Flames; Song of the Heart and Memory of Roses. The Realm Trilogy, the first of which I’m starting this November for NaNoWriMo. Then there’s seven additional stories not including the various short stories for Aurora Borealis.

Have you written any other books?

Aside from the Aurora Borealis short stories, the only other completed manuscript at this time is for Shadow of the Stars. It stars Dulcea before the happenings of Angel in the Flames.

Where can people learn more about your books?

My Personal Website lists all the projects I’m either working on or will be working on shortly: https://sites.google.com/site/keridudas/

My Blog: http://goddessofworlds.blogspot.ca/

My Smashwords Author Page: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/keridudas

Angel in the Flames set for release January, 2013 at: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/keridudas

3 Responses to “Keri Dudas, Author of “Angel in the Flames” (Interview)”

  1. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Good luck with NaNo


Leave a Reply

