Loki, Villain of “Love’s Second Sight” by Darragha Foster

Who are you?

I am Loki, Norse god of Mischief. I am Fire. Flame. Passion.

Are you the hero of your own story?

The hero? That’s an interesting thought. I’ve never been a hero before. I like the idea. In this case, I believe the author meant for me to be the villain. It’s a part a played well.

What is your problem in the story?

The church. It claims my adherents and I am given praise and glory less and less. I found a place—and a woman—wherein I could take root and be worshiped and loved. But she is resistant. And then she falls in love with a mortal male. Really…when she could have me. I’ll never understand the need for mortal women to have mortal spouses. Thorgunna wants a Greenlander, of all things. The most lowly Norseman of all.

Do you embrace conflict?

I cause conflict.

How do your friends see you?

It varies from person to person. I am elemental flame. I am a tall, handsome red haired man. I am a wolf. I am a hawk. I am a salmon. I am the flicker at the end of a wick.

Do you have any special strengths?

A curt question. I am a god. I am without limit. I am clever. I am a shape-shifter. I can be everywhere. Anytime. As anyone or anything. Special strengths? Why don’t you invoke My name and we’ll talk in person.

What do you want and need?

Your love and devotion.

What makes you happy?

When my wives are happy. When I find a “horse” like Darragha. Oh…a “horse” is a mortal who can “aspect” me and write as I wish, or speak to mortals on my behalf. She and I write well together. Our is a lovely partnership. I am her Muse. She is my “writer chick,” or more properly, my skald.

What do you regret?

Regret? Really? I have no regrets. I am Loki.

Do you keep your promises?

Of course. But it is not so simple as that. I offer the dilemma with one hand and solution with the other. You must choose. But always, I promise to give you exactly what you need.

Do you have any distinguishing marks?

Hair of flame and scarred lips. But do not be distracted or frightened of my scars. My lips can kiss and coo with great skill and bring immense joy and pleasure.

What in your past had the most profound effect on you?

I am change. I am the god of change. It was my hand that set the wheels in motion for the end of one era and the beginning of another for the gods.

Was there a major turning point in your life?

The editing process of Darragha’s book, “Love’s Second Sight” brought me into a state of rapture I have not felt in some time. When she followed the call of one of her readers, I was reborn and renewed by their love. I am afoot. Do you want me?

What is your favorite scent?

I love the scents of my mortals. They are a bouquet of brilliance. Amber, a field of flowers, roses, rainfall. Green herbs and honey. Oh, lovely.

Where can we find your story?

Let’s see. “Love’s Second Sight” by Darragha Foster, release date 11/26/12 from LSBooks.com and “With Intent” by the same author, to be released 1/4/13 by Forevermore Publishing. I’m also in “Teaching Old Gods New Tricks,” by Darragha Foster, LSBooks.com.

2 Responses to “Loki, Villain of “Love’s Second Sight” by Darragha Foster”

  1. ROD MARSDEN Says:

    Sounds interesting. Growing up, I preferred Loki to Thor.

  2. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Now I’m definitely intrigued.


Leave a Reply

