Rich Adams, Author of “Fractured”

What is your book about?

Fractured is an Adventure/Thriller, a cautionary novel about the still urgent problem of nuclear waste disposal and the errors governments and the scientific community can make, and have made, in trying to safely solve deadly situations resulting from our technological advances.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

At least a year. Always a science buff, I became intrigued by a book, The Floor of the Sea by William Wertenbaker, the story of Plate Tectonics and the work of Maurice Ewing. Then, problems with nuclear waste, which was in the news at the time, caught my attention.. This was in the mid-seventies. At the time I was ‘between positions, ‘a euphemism for out of work, and decided to give writing a try.. It had been mostly written and then placed in a drawer when life got in the way. Beginning in 2010 I worked on rewriting and bringing it up to date for about a year and then spent two years trying to get it published.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

I usually have the general outline and the climax in mind. The story grows from there. It is exciting to me when more ideas and characters enter the world I am creating.

Did you do any research for the book?

Quite a bit. I am a research junkie. I begin with, and outline by general subject matter, the knowledge I need to acquire and find myself adding to it as the story unfolds. I build a bibliography and my local Librarian, Sandy Cooke, is one of my best helpers as she finds me the books I need. I will use texts, well researched novels and newspaper and magazine articles. I have learned to make use of the Internet, and Google Earth has been a marvelous tool for gaining on-site information and visual input. I will haunt Amazon for used titles that will be useful.

What about your book might pique the readers interest?

Some people believe the saying “You can’t tell a book by its cover.” I disagree. Title and cover are immensely important in marketing your work. Although I am not a stranger to writing, I have come to this “Novel Writing” game rather late in life. When I begin a project I start with the outline in my mind, and then develop a working cover and title. This cover then becomes my desk-top art and serves to keep me focused and excited about the work. I am a very visual person. Then I hope the subject matter will engage their interest.. We are sitting on a powder keg of world-changing danger. If I have done my job I hope that this story will educate some folks to this situation.

What is your writing schedule like?

I try to rise every morning at 6:00. I get my orange juice and head for my study. I attempt to write at least three hours every day. I do not have a daily word goal. I can sometimes make four hours. However, I spend a lot more time than that in the writing business. Today is Saturday and my wife is out of town. I have spent the entire day working at my computer. What you are reading is one result of my work today. I am writing in support of my writing.

What are you working on right now?

I have a trilogy of crime novels I am trying to finish. I have run out of gas with the last book. This brings up something else that really helps me. At any one time I have a minimum of three more books in my head. Each one has a cover developed and a general outline in my head. Some even have a bit of text going. Now, when I hit a wall in my current work, I will turn to one of these future projects and keep on writing. Thus, I keep production moving along on at least something. Next to be published is Book One of the Jerzey Swift, Detective series: Knife Lines. I am also doing research for a book that will take most of 2013 to research and write” The Antikythera Codex.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your work in progress?

This has proven to be a hard task for me. There is always so much going on. Well, here goes. Carteret County N.C. Sheriffs Detective Jerzey Swift’s new case involves a drowning, which is not a drowning at all but a murder by crossbow, which leads her and Jack Penrod, her partner, on a chase into the Falconry lifestyle, an education in becoming invisible, and terror when trying to apprehend the unsub.

Does writing come easy for you?

For me, this is a yes and no question. Yes, it appears to be easy at times, and no, it ain’t easy at all. It is usually easy. Names for characters seem to just appear. They are always talking. Some in my Blood into Ink Writers Group were surprised at the amount of dialog that carries my stories. The story seemingly grows on its own. I know it is coming out of my head and onto the page, but sometimes I don’t believe I am in control. It becomes hard when the characters put me into a corner and I can’t see any way out.” That’s your job,” they say. Swell!

Do you have a computer file or mental list of ideas for stories you intend to write one day?

Yup, I do. Both in my head and in an old fashioned file folder. As you know by now I also have text written for three future stories that I use for distraction from current writing.

What one word describes how you feel when you write?

Wow. You’re really tough! I had enough trouble with the one sentence question. After half an hour of contemplation I have come up with one word, although it shares space with several others. JOY has floated to the top of the list.

Where can we learn more about you and your book?

From Second Wind Publishing: http://www.secondwindpublishing.com/index.php?manufacturers_id=64

Leave a Reply

