TL Spencer, author of “Blood Prophecy: The Fated Three”

What is your book about?

Blood Prophecy: The Fated Three is a three part novel of magic, love, vampires and betrayal. Three young women discover they are bound together by fate and must band together in order to save the world from darkness.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite? Why?

Selene Giovanni is the first character we are introduced to; she is a strong and independent young woman with a sad and complicated past. Selene is the most powerful of the three young women and the leader. Aynia is the youngest ‘enchantress’ with the power of post-cognition; she also has the power of biokinesis. Her abilities are already very strong and there are several twists and turns within her life. The final protagonist, Lalinn, is a seer; she has the power to see the past, present and future.

Lalinn is my favourite character; she was also the most challenging to write. I loved writing her because she is the most realistic, the most human. In general, people don’t really change; we like to think that they do, but they don’t. Lalinn is the epitome of this. Though she learns from her mistakes, her fundamental character doesn’t change.

How long did it take you to write your book?

As I was writing the novel while I was ill, it took me nearly two years to complete. It was a fun time, despite my health problems, and the writing enabled me to keep my brain active.

Do you have any rituals that you follow before sitting down to write?

Before writing, I go through my songs on the computer, selecting tracks which help create the right mood. Then, I’ll pick up my laptop and iPod, travel downstairs, grab a bunch of sweets, plenty of fluids, perch myself in the front room by a nice cosy fire and type. I also wear warm fluffy socks; it is ridiculously hard to concentrate with cold feet!

What do you like to read? What is your favorite genre?

I am a romantic at heart. Though the romance genre seems to be the least respected of the literary genres, I love it; any kind of romance and I’m there. Paranormal, fantasy, science-fiction… Anything with words and lots and lots of romance. I’m also a huge fan of the Harry Potter books. Give me one of them to read and I won’t talk for hours.

What writer influenced you the most?

There are many writers whose books I love to read: JR Ward, Nicholas Sparks, Kerrelyn Sparks, JK Rowling, Agatha Christie, Jane Austen… I suppose each writer has influenced me in some way.

What, in your opinion, are the essential qualities of a good story?

A story which captivates, enthrals and intrigues a reader is the best kind of story. When you are so caught up in the world that by the time you’ve finished you cry out ‘what?’ because you want more; that is a good story. Escapism is definitely an essential quality.

Which is more important to your story, character or plot?

This is different for everyone. For me, it varies. In my opinion they are so closely linked, character and plot often blend together. However, I have to say that it is beneficial for me to know what my characters are doing and why. Characters seem to make themselves known once the plot is sorted.

What advice you would give to an aspiring author?

Write, write and then write some more. Never give up and always, always enjoy what you do. If you don’t like what you write then it isn’t writing; it’s just scribble.

Where do you get the names for your characters?

Names are extremely important. They should be a symbol of who you are. The three female protagonists of this novel were based on goddesses/spirits from around the world. Several of the male protagonists were named after their abilities and one or two of them were just given names that I really, really liked. Place names were picked/inspired from street signs and random stuff like that.

What is your favorite place, real or fictional? Why?

I have a favourite place in fiction and in the real world. My fictional favourite is (obviously) Hogwarts. Who wouldn’t want to be a student there? I’d love to come home every summer and turn some of my meaner relatives into pigs and teapots and things. Life would also be so much easier! My favourite real place is Cologne, in Germany. The cathedral is amazing!

Where can people learn more about your books?

Details about Blood Prophecy: The Fated Three can be found at http://apostrophebooks.com/books/blood-prophecy

Follow me on Twitter: @terrilspencer and @apostrophebooks

Find me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authortlspencer and http://www.facebook.com/apostrophebooksltd

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/TLSpencer and http://www.goodreads.com/apostrophebooks

Check out my Blog: http://terrispencer.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

