Mary L. Ball, author of “Stone of Destiny”

destinyWhat is your book about?

Stone of Destiny is an Inspirational Mystery below is a bit about the novel.

Taylor has given up on everything but her work. After becoming the youngest CEO of Mugful’s Beverage Company, she believes life is complete–until her grandmother asks her to oversee the renovations of the family home, in addition to searching for a missing heirloom.

Her first contact with what she believes is an insignificant ring, lost for fifty years, sends her life spinning. Taylor experiences strange. Unexpected feelings surface that she doesn’t understand. Thoughts that should remain unspoken are voiced.

Taylor’s emotional journey begins, testing a heart as cold as the ring itself and forcing her to question everything she believes.

Is this a fairytale, or simply her soul reaching out for a different world–a life she can only find through faith and a divine trust in God?

What inspired you to write this particular story?

My grandson likes to read book about magic, so I decided to write a book about a spiritual kind of magic that comes through faith.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

Only the faith aspect is part of my characters. Every book I write has a spiritual link that comes from my personality.

Did you do any research for the book?

Yes, I needed to research Central America. As much as I would have loved doing the study in Panama, I relied on the Internet. Also, various coffees were investigated. That’s something I enjoy.

Have you written any other books?

My debut fiction novel is titled Escape to Big Fork Lake, available on Amazon.

Do you keep a pen and notepad on your bedside table?

Yes, I do. I also have a note pad and pen in my car, my purse and my computer bag. I never know when a thought or idea will come. Life gets so busy I don’t try to remember everything. I rely on my notes.

What are you working on right now?

My work in progress is about a man on his quest to overcome alcohol addiction and seek forgiveness as well as forgive himself because of a bad mistake he once made.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your work-in-progress?

Sometimes, a person gets lost in a battle between the evil threatening the soul and a need for redemption.

Who designed your cover?

The editor-in-chief of Prism Book Group (my publisher) is fantastic at creating wonderful covers.

c2674ff54e280a7f02357c_L__V136296886_SX200_How has your background influenced your writing?

I live in a small town and I love the less complicated life it affords, so in all my stories the character is either living in a small town or moves to one.

Where can people buy your book?

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=Stone+of+Destiny+ebook+by+mary+L+ball

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

5 Responses to “Mary L. Ball, author of “Stone of Destiny””

  1. writingthrugrace Says:

    Thanks Pat for having me today. Your blog great!

  2. Justina Prima Says:

    Great interview, Mary!

  3. Diane Dean White Says:

    I loved reading Mary’s latest book, Stone of Destiny. I thought the characters were real and we see them daily, in our lives, and those around us. The suspense was great as she shared her story and through a deep faith, shows readers how full our lives can be when we believe in Christ.

  4. writingthrugrace Says:

    Thanks Ladies, I believe all of us have a little bit of Taylor inside. We can all be stubborn at times.


Leave a Reply

