Sergio Pereira, Author of “Don’t Steal From The Devil”

DSFTD_600x800_hi_resWhat is your book about?

“Don’t Steal from the Devil” is a paranormal horror story about a demonic entity which inhabits the home of a broken family. One evening, two intruders enter the home, and a whole lot of hell is raised when they try to steal from the devil – hence the title. I like to consider the story to be a possession-themed horror in the same line as “The Conjuring” or “The Exorcist,” but with an added twist.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

I had wanted to write a horror story for some time, but I could never figure out a good plot or angle – I certainly didn’t want to just regurgitate what’s already out there. However, in terms of the actual idea for DSFTD, it probably took me about a month and a half to actually conceptualise the whole thing.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

Way too much of myself. There are many quirks and mannerisms, which I’m actually waiting for friends and family to pick up on. Nonetheless, I do wish to go on the record and declare: I am not a demon.

What about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Personally – although I’m bias – I think the story is unique, and something that I haven’t read or seen before. Not only will you be freaked out by a demon, but you also have the additional terror of an intruder invasion. Tell me, what’s scarier than that?

Who designed your cover?

The cover design was done by Wesley Smuts from Affinity92 Designs. Funny enough, I did the press release and biography for Wes’ band Climate Control.

How (or when) do you decide that you are finished writing a story?

I view a story as a natural process; when it feels done, chances are that it probably is. I am a big fan of minimalism, and feel that it’s pointless to waffle on, if you’re just trying to fill word quotas.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

Apart from a good fright and chill, I’d like for them to take away the lesson that everyone has their own demon, and the potential to do both good and bad. It’s all about choices and how you view morality.

Do you have mental list or a computer file or a spiral notebook with the ideas for or outlines of stories that you have not written but intend to one day?

I have about 10 Word documents consisting of several pages of ideas, and a notebook that I use to jot down just odd words and pictures. Being obsessive-compulsive, I fully intend on following through with every single idea, and more, but it’s just the matter of being in the position to write full-time and give my utmost attention to my writing projects.

Do you think writing this book changed your life? How so?

Absolutely. I’ve always possessed an extreme determination and drive to pursue my dreams, but I think this experience has really pushed me even more. I’ve been blown away by all of the support and kind words from the readers and the writing community. The mere fact that someone is willing to read something that I wrote is humbling and inspiring to me.

Have you ever had difficulty “killing off” a character in your story because she or he was so intriguing and full of possibility for you, his creator?

Nah, not at all. I’m a bit like George R.R. Martin in the sense that no one is safe from extermination. If I think they’ve outstayed their welcome, they’ll be knocked off very quickly.

What one book, written by someone else, do you wish you’d written yourself?

“Good Omens” by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. It’s probably my favourite book of all-time, and I just can’t get enough of the social satire and hilarious dialogue. It’s the best book ever, and I will fight anyone who disagrees.

What are you working on right now?

At the moment, I’m busy working on a geek comedy titled “Coffin Claus,” which is about an oddball 40-something man, who believes he is a vampire. Concurrently, I’m still piecing together the potential sequel to Don’t Steal from the Devil; I have plans on making it a quadrilogy, but I’m not entirely satisfied with the plots for each story, so I’ll continue to rework until I figure out something great.

What words would you like to leave the world when you are gone?

“Never cared, and never will. Sayonara, suckers!”

live2photo-8466-3-c1-t2-bwWhere can people learn more about your books?

You can find out more about my projects from my official website (www.sergiopereira.co.za). Alternatively, just get in touch with me via Facebook (www.facebook.com/sergiopereira27) and Twitter (www.twitter.com/sergiowrites), since I’m always posting news and details there, too. You can purchase a copy of “Don’t Steal from the Devil” from Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Dont-Steal-Devil-ebook/dp/B00GAVRAD8).

4 Responses to “Sergio Pereira, Author of “Don’t Steal From The Devil””

  1. rami ungar the writer Says:

    That sounds like a book I might want to check out…if I ever get the chance to read it. Argh! I need to start keeping a reading list.

  2. #DSFTD Features 2 - Sergio Pereira Says:

    […] Pat Bertram Introduces… is a website run by Colorado native and writer, Pat Bertram, who is the author of books such as Light Bringer and Daughter Am I. Pat also conducts author, character, bookseller, and publisher interviews on her website – and I was lucky enough to nab a spot. Read my interview here. […]


Leave a Reply

