Interview with Eric Johnson, Author of “Summer School Zombocalypse”

What is your book about?

Summer School Zombocalypse. After a plane crashes onto the school yard and rescue attempts turns the first responders into zombies, Tom and his motley crew of grade-schoolers fight to find their way home. But home isn’t the safe haven they have been seeking. The zombies are everywhere. Tom leads the kids on a desperate search through the town for their parents. Horrors arise at every corner. Their search leads them back to school where they discover the awful truth- aliens are turning humans into zombies for food! Now finding their parents isn’t the most important thing they have to do. They have to save the world.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

I am a panster by nature, I get an idea of a character, choose three things about him. Pick a beginning and get a rough idea of where I want to end, and go.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

Summer School Zombocalypse started as a writing exercise for my writers group.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

I can’t answer that, I turn the music up to 11, close my eyes and let my fingers go, fingers free.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite? Why?

Tom like all 14 year old boys wants to test his boundaries, he wants to be trusted that his ability to make good judgment calls about how he handles himself can be accepted.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

I had no intention of making my characters likable. Likeability is over rated.

Why will readers relate to your characters?

Waves magic wand, I hope so. I enjoyed writing them. Tom is the leader, the driver of the story, Emmett and Winston are the logical and the child. Anidea she wants what everyone else does, to escape, but on her terms. She is a manipulator.

If your book was made into a TV series or Movie, what actors would you like to see playing your characters?

I’ll let the producer choose, budgets are a major factor in film. But if I could choose and had a time machine I would choose a 14 year old Wil Wheaton to play my main character.

What are you working on right now?

I am working on the third novel in the “Times Forgotten” series

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your work-in-progress?

What would you do, if you could do it all over again?

Where can people learn more about Summer School Zombocalypse?

From Second Wind Publishing: http://goo.gl/FieHl3

2 Responses to “Interview with Eric Johnson, Author of “Summer School Zombocalypse””

  1. Eric Johnson Says:

    Thanks for the interview Pat.

  2. marilyn Says:

    Glad things are happening for you. Keep up the good work’


Leave a Reply

