Interview With Sally Laughlin, Author of “Fly Toward Death”

What is your book about?

There were three all-female aviation regiments in the Soviet Union during WWII. Fly Toward Death is about the female pilots, navigators and ground crews that flew and worked under incredibly adverse conditions.  From women who flew the little, unarmed bi-planes and bombed the German Army at night; to the fierce, female fighter-pilots who fought the seasoned German Luftwaffe, humbling them before their peers.  This is a fictional account, based on actual events, of those amazing women who lived, loved and died bravely during the dark days of World War II.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I was surfing the Internet one day and came upon an article about Nachthexens (Night Witches) during World War II.  It is what the German soldiers called the Soviet women pilots who bombed them repeatedly at night. I was intrigued about women pilots fighting against the Germans.  I graduated from college with a major in History and never heard about these incredible women and what they accomplished.

Why will readers relate to your character?

I believe that most readers will relate to these characters. I think inside all of us we have admiration and respect for those who go up against great odds regardless of the cost.  These women did not like killing, but they had to try to defend their Motherland from the invading forces.

Did you do any research for the book?  If so, how did you do it?

I read everything I could get my hands on about these women via books, Internet articles, etc.  They interviewed a few of the surviving women (translated from Russian), and I was amazed at the things they went through.

What is your goal for the book, ie:  what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I want people to know about these incredible women and what they did under impossibly adverse conditions.

How has your background influenced your writing?

I was a police officer over thirty-five years ago.  Back then I was an oddity.  I had many comments like “Why are you a police officer?  You should be home cooking for your family”. “What’s a woman doing carrying a gun?  Don’t go shooting yourself or the REAL officers.”  I could sympathize with these young women who were not only fighting the Germans but their male constituents’ attitudes.

Have you written other books?

I have written five other books:  One Historical Romance novel and four books in a series of the Science Fantasy genre.

What are you working on now?

Currently, I am working a sequel to both the Historical Romance novel and book five in the Science Fantasy novels.  Plus I am tossing around a few other ideas for another book.

What is the most difficult part of the whole writing process?

The most difficult part of the whole writing process for me –  rewrites, rewrites, rewrites.

Where can we learn more about your book?

From Second Wind Publishing:

3 Responses to “Interview With Sally Laughlin, Author of “Fly Toward Death””

  1. michaelphelps1 Says:

    Reblogged this on Michaelphelps1's Blog and commented:
    AUTHOR/INTERVIEWER PAT BERTRAM’s great Interview of AUTHOR SALLY LAUGHLIN . . . ‘FLY TOWARD DEATH’ is about a little known group of RUSSIAN female pilots in WWII!

  2. sallylaughlin Says:

    Michael, thank you for your reply. I read your “info” and I laughed out loud when I read “and happily divorced” – amen to that! Your books sound great, and I am ordering the first “The Execution of Justice.” Thank you again and I will watch for further blogs that you write – on whatever you blog about. I never really read any blogs – I know shame on me. I don’t know how to blog or even read someone’s blog. Mercy, I am lucky I can figure out how to turn my computer on and off.

  3. Dan Herschman Says:

    Are you the Sally Ann Laughlin who let me copy her notes for Senior English in 1962


Leave a Reply

