Interview with Roselyn Jewell, author of “unFocused (The Roving Book 1)”

3644584How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

I always put a bit of myself into each of my characters. I also put personality traits of family and friends as well.

Why will readers relate to your characters?

I think my characters are relatable because they are all multi-dimensional and realistic.

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

Yes, I make very detailed outlines beforehand and then work from the outline to flesh it out into a complete story.

How (or when) do you decide that you are finished writing a story?

I know I’m finished when I reach the final point of my outline. I always have a set number of chapters in mind as well and when I reach that final chapter, I know it’s the last one.

How has your background influenced your writing?

My family moved around a lot when I was growing up, so I got to see a lot of places. I’ve used that knowledge of different areas and what they are like to set my books in many different surroundings.

What are you working on right now?

Book two of The Roving, my YA Dystopian series.

At what age did you discover writing?

I made my first writing attempt when I was just five years old!

What is something you never leave home without (apart from keys, money and phone)?

Pen and paper. You never know when a great idea might present itself😉

What advice would you give other novelists about book promotion?

It is a whole lot harder and more involved than most people realize!

Where can people learn more about your books?

On my website, http://www.roselynjewell.com🙂 You can also find me on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, etc,

Leave a Reply

