Interview with Liz Cowan, Author of “The Beast Within”

Welcome, Liz. What is your new book about?

The Beast Within is a contemporary twist on Beauty and the Beast.

Crystal Belle St. James’ life is devoted to caring for a parent suffering from Alzheimer’s.

Reclusive Daniel Di Domenico may be handsome and wealthy but prefers solitude. One morning he wakes up with Bell’s palsy and becomes temporarily disfigured.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it? (searching Internet, magazines, other books, etc.)

I researched Alzheimer’s on the internet and followed a fellow author whose mother suffers from dementia. Bell’s palsy: I researched on the internet and interviewed a friend who had it.

What do you like to read?

I am a voracious reader and gobble up 4-5 books per week. I read both fiction and non-fiction. My taste in fiction spans all genres. And enjoy well-written books. I also like to read non-fiction. Fiction develops the linguistic skills and non-fiction feeds the mind.

What, in your opinion, are the essential qualities of a good story?

For me the essential qualities of a good story: it must capture and hold my interest; the story must pull me in whether it is a shifter tale or a romance, and the story must have “meat” on its bones.

Have you written any other books?

I have written three novels- The Dionysus Connection, The Marathon Man, Sins of the Father, two humor books- Through the Keyhole, Fractured Proverbs and Twisted Thoughts, and I write a weekly humor column for a couple of newspapers.

Where do you get the names for your characters?

Sometimes the character names just pop into my head. Or, I meet someone with a name I know I will have to use in a story. If all else fails, I have several baby name books and try to match my characters with the appropriate name (which includes the meaning of the name).

Do you have a saying or motto for your life and/or as a writer?

My favorite quote is by Albert Einstein. “The difference between stupid and genius is that genius has limits.”

What is your favorite place, real or fictional?

My favorite place is Budapest, Hungary. I was born there. Also, it is beautiful, and the history of my ancestors draws me in.

Who designed your cover?

My cover designer is Tatiana Vila. She designed all but one of my covers and is amazing.

You’re right. That’s a great cover. Where can people learn more about you and your books?

My books are available on Amazon. All but one written as Liz Cowan. Fractured Proverbs and Twisted Thoughts written as Elizabeth Cowan. You can learn more about me on my website: http://elizabethcowan.com/

Thank you for talking with us today. Best of luck with your new book!

One Response to “Interview with Liz Cowan, Author of “The Beast Within””

  1. Liz Cowan Says:

    Thank you, Pat. You do a great job.


Leave a comment