Megan, Hero of “Flower Child” by Sheila Deeth

Flower Child by Sheila Deeth: When Megan miscarries her first pregnancy it feels like the end of everything; instead it’s the start of a curious relationship between the grieving mother and an unborn child who hovers somewhere between ghost and angel. Angela, Megan’s “little angel” has character and dreams all her own, friends who may or may not be real angels, and a little brother who brings hope to her mother’s world. But Angela’s dream-world has a secret and one day Angela might learn how to be real.

Today, I am interviewing the hero of Flower Child. Who are you?

My name’s Megan.

Are you the hero of your own story?

I’m a stay-at-home Mom with one child. Do stay-at-home Mom’s have stories?

What is your problem in the story?

My first pregnancy ended in miscarriage — left me feeling like I’d failed my child somehow.

How do you see yourself?

I think I’m a good-enough Mom. I hope I am. But I wish I was better. I wish I wasn’t a failure.

How do your friends see you?

I think they think I’m falling apart. They might be right.

Do you have a goal?

I guess my goal’s to be a better Mom, but I wish you could change the past so I could be a better Mom to the child I lost.

What are your achievements?

I have a healthy son.

What do you want?

Closure?

What do you believe?

My husband says I believe in fairy tales.

What, if anything, haunts you?

My daughter? I just wonder sometimes…

Have you ever failed anyone?

Yes, her.

Do you keep your promises?

I try.

Are you honorable?

I think so.

Are you healthy?

Mostly.

What is your most closely guarded secret?

She is.

Thank you, Sheila. Is there anything else you’d like to tell us?

Thanks for this chance to interview Megan from Flower Child — coming soon from Gypsy Shadow (http://gypsyshadow.com/SheilaDeeth.html). More info on my website (http://sheiladeeth.weebly.com)

Click here to read an excerpt from: Flower Child

Click here to read an interview with: Sheila Deeth

5 Responses to “Megan, Hero of “Flower Child” by Sheila Deeth”

  1. Mary Russel Says:

    A clever idea to interview a character. Interviewing characters would also be a great idea for an author while writing a novel.

  2. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Thank you so much for posting this, Pat.

  3. bethtrissel Says:

    Sheila, this brought tears to my eyes. Our first grandbaby, Adam, was stillborn. A knot in the cord. Full term. Terribly sad. I still choke up, but believe he’s in heaven and we will see him again. His two younger siblings are here with me now having a picnic on the coffee table and watching Wonder Pets. I’m glad you are brave enough to write about such a painful subject in your book, Flower Child.

  4. Ruthi Says:

    Deeply touching, this interview with your character Megan. This question and its answer touched me personally:

    Do you have a goal? I guess my goal’s to be a better Mom, but I wish you could change the past so I could be a better Mom to the child I lost.

    This response would apply to those mothers who have lost a child, no matter the circumstances of the loss.

  5. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Hi Beth. I still choke up sometimes, thinking of my unborn one, though always in private because if s/he were here my oldest couldn’t be.


Leave a comment