Ellis Vidler, Author of “Cold Comfort”

Welcome, Ellis. What is your book Cold Comfort about?

A rather conventional woman who, when someone tries to kill her, discovers everything she believed about her life is a lie.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I visited a fascinating Christmas shop in Rotenberg, Germany. It was absolutely magical. The images stayed with me for years, and one day when I was wondering what it would be like to create such a shop, Claire Spencer walked into my head. She became the main character.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

More of what I’d like to be than what I am. Claire is more determined and, even though she may be afraid, she does what she believes is necessary.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

It has to be Jelly—Jelly Biggs, a bad guy in my WIP. He’s an ex prize fighter who took a few too many blows to the head, leaving him a little punchy. “Jelly’s thoughts might tumble around like lottery balls in a bin, but the former heavyweight could still float like a butterfly.”

How long did it take you to write your book?

Cold Comfort took about a year to write and five more to revise till I felt it was right. The first one, Haunting Refrain, took eight years to complete. I’m getting better.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

The characters and the crime, but I’m trying to morph from a pantser into more of a plotter. I think it will make the writing go faster and keep the storyline tighter.

Does writing come easy for you?

Getting into the story is often hard, but once I’m there, it flows. If I can tap into my subconscious and let it take over, the initial writing is easy. Revising and making it all come together is much more difficult but also more rewarding. I like that part.

How many stories do you currently have swirling around in your head?

Four main ones and a couple of others that keep popping up. It’s mostly the characters that draw me. I really want to write them all.

What do you like to read?

Suspense and crime fiction.

Have you written any other books?

Yes, two other novels, Haunting Refrain and The Peeper (with Jim Christopher), and some short stories.

Where do you get the names for your characters?

I look up ethnic names and meanings, such as Sicilian family names for a mob boss or Irish names for a hero. I also consider whether the sound of the name conveys what I want from the character. I try to avoid having similar-sounding names in the same book.

Where can people learn more about you and your books?

Cold Comfort http://tinyurl.com/ev-cc-Kindle and http://tinyurl.com/ev-cc-Nook

Website: http://www.ellisvidler.com

Blog: http://theunpredictablemuse.blogspot.com

9 Responses to “Ellis Vidler, Author of “Cold Comfort””

  1. Polly iyer Says:

    I’ve read Cold Comfort, and it’s a wonderful book with a heroine you can relate to and a reluctant hero you want to, ahem, relate to. The story has many twists and turns and a surprise ending. I highly recommend it.

  2. Ellis Vidler Says:

    Thank you, Polly. I definitely related to the hero, who tried hard not to be one.

  3. Barbara Williams Says:

    Cold Comfort was definitely fun to read and it moved ahead like a freight train. That revising that Ellis enjoys really pays off. New readers should be prepared to lose some sleep.

  4. patricia driscoll Says:

    I’m looking forward to reading Cold Comfort. It Sounds great and has a wonderful title too. I don’t like to lose sleep, but I’m sure in this case, it will be worth it.

  5. Sandra Carey Cody Says:

    I enjoyed Cold Comfort (perfect pacing, likeable characters, some nice descriptions) and appreciate this opportunity for a look at how it was created.

  6. Sheila Deeth Says:

    Sounds like something I would enjoy. Thank you for the introduction.

  7. Ellis Vidler Says:

    Thanks, y’all. I cut a lot in the revision process, trying to make it move faster. What sounds right the first time through can start to drag when you re-read. It’s hard to judge your own work sometimes. But I loved the characters, which may have clouded my judgment. Do you fall into that trap?

  8. dellanioakes Says:

    Great interview! Great to meet you, Ellis!

  9. Book Bits #126 – Writer’s links for tips, reviews, features and book news | Malcolm's Book Bits and Notions Says:

    […] Ellis Vidler, Author of “Cold Comfort,” with Pat Bertram – “I visited a fascinating Christmas shop in Rotenberg, Germany. It was absolutely magical. […]


Leave a comment