Interview with Bailey Devlin from the Bailey Devlin series by Rebecca Forster

bdThanks for the opportunity Pat. Instead of my thrillers, I chose The Bailey Devlin Series, books-without-bodies, sweet romance written as a gift for my mom’s 91st birthday.

What is your story?

My story is pretty basic. I’m looking for love but with the right person. If the right person doesn’t come along, then I’m looking to make it on my own. I don’t mean make it big time, I mean make it in a good, honest way. I just don’t want to ever wonder how I’ll pay the rent like my mom did. It’s tough being a single mother or the only child of a single mother. I worried a lot as a kid so that’s why I want to pull my own weight – but only if I don’t find a good man to help me pull it.

Where do you live?

San Francisco. Well, not the city but close enough that I can see that beautiful golden bridge in the distance. I’ll get to the city one day. That’s how hard I’ll work.

Do you have money troubles?

Oh, big time! Student loans – I’m in law school you know – so I’ve got a bunch of bills. I work at the courthouse sandwich shop, but the wages aren’t anything to write home about. Still, Mr. Balmati, the owner, and his daughter are like family so I’m happy there. And, if it weren’t for working there I would never have met Jeffery. And if I didn’t have to live in a run down old apartment building, I never would have met Ethan. So, maybe money problems are a good thing. What do you think?

Who is your true love?

Boy, I sure wish I knew. I’ll have to get to book 3 to find out who I picked. Ethan and Jeffery are both good men just different as night and day. It’s hard to choose between good men.

Last book you read:

Constitutional Law – or I read part of it but I keep falling asleep. It’s no fun sleeping with a book.

How do you envision your future?

Secure. Sweet. A fairy tale. But don’t tell anyone that because wishes don’t come true if you say them out loud.I’m a little superstitious.

What do you need?

Family. I kind of have that. Just not the one I thought I’d have. I was really weird about that. It took me a long, long time to realize that families don’t come in one size. I’m happy I was smart enough to finally get it.

Did the author portray you accurately?

Yep, It’s almost like we’re twins separated at birth. I’ve been meaning to ask her about that. I feel like I’m channeling her, but if her life was anything like mine she’s really a little bit of a dork.

How do you see yourself?

Competent. Hard working. Serious. Gawky. Well meaning. Suffering from foot-in-mouth disease. I’m so well meaning that I screw up the one thing I mean to do well by.

Are you lucky?

You wouldn’t know it from reading my books, but yes. I’m lucky. It’s just that Lady luck doesn’t hand me anything. As much as I believe in her, she makes me work for it. Maybe that’s so I appreciate whatever she sends my way.

Leave a Reply

